Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Power Switching and Current Limiting

Status
Not open for further replies.

Renheowein

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello, I am a senior engineering student at Virginia Tech. I'm
currently working on my design project, trying to simplify the
power supply to a plasma torch. Currently we are using a welding
power supply and high frequency starter to light the torch, but
my faculty adviser wants to try something different.

His idea: Light the torch with the power supply and HF starter,
but then switch over to a battery supply to keep it lit for a
short period of time. The torch needs about 30V and 20A to stay
running, which I know is a high power rating for batteries. But I
was wondering if anyone had any recommendations. My 2 problems:
1. Switching from the supply to batteries. It needs to be safe,
and I'd rather not blow up any batteries while I'm at it.
2. Controlling the current. If the torch is allowed to **** as
much current as it can, it will drain the batteries very quickly.

I'm pretty new to electronics, in particular power electronics, but I have access to some resources. But try not to use any jargon (ie, "Just use a CCT, and hook it into the AsM.") cause you'll probably just lose me. :)

If you have any suggestions, I am definitely open to them. Thanks
for all your help!

---------- Post added at 09:35 ---------- Previous post was at 09:33 ----------

Replace the **** with "drain."

Car batteries would handle that no problem. Your wires would likely melt their insulation before the battery failed.