Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Power Supply 0~30V, 0~2A

Status
Not open for further replies.

hadihf

Full Member level 3
Joined
Mar 29, 2002
Messages
150
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Planet Earth
Activity points
1,129
power supply 5v 2a shema

Hi,
Here is a simple power supply I made. It has full zero, "yes zero" 8) voltage contorl to 30V and current down to 5 mA and upto 2A. It has very low noise and good stability. I use it for everthing and it never let me down for past 1 years. Use large Heatsink. Enjoy.
:D Hadihf
 

algilsan

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jan 20, 2002
Messages
116
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Location
chile
Activity points
1,078
power supply circuit 30v 2a

i'm working in laboratory power supply controlled digitally by a uC, so perhaps i could use part of your schema.


many thanks
 

harbert

Newbie level 1
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
1
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
8
double 30 v 10 amp. power supply

HI ! I HAVE A ARTICLE ABOUT PFC BASED ON THE DSP .I THINK YOU NEED IT ,SO I ATTACH IT HERE ,PLS ENJOY IT!
 

ahgu

Full Member level 3
Joined
Jun 19, 2001
Messages
172
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,552
10 amp 30v supply 723

how do you change the voltage?
 

hadihf

Full Member level 3
Joined
Mar 29, 2002
Messages
150
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Planet Earth
Activity points
1,129
psu 10 ampers schema

There are two pots, marked "V" for volt and "I" for current. simple as that :D

Hadihf
 

jjchl

Newbie level 6
Joined
Apr 3, 2002
Messages
12
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
spain
Activity points
102
design of (0-30)v,2a pwer supplies

Hi HARBERT,

Please attach the article about PFC

Thanks.
 

scum

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Jan 3, 2002
Messages
24
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
84
power supply+0 to 30v+schematic

Hmmm... Very Nice ...
May be only needs V/A metter ..
 

hadihf

Full Member level 3
Joined
Mar 29, 2002
Messages
150
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Planet Earth
Activity points
1,129
power supply design (0 to 30v, 0 to 2 amp)

Actualy I was looking for a PIC based A/V meter with 1X16 LCD but could not find one at that time. Now I just use a hand neld DVM. :D
Regards
hadihf
 

lcg22

Member level 5
Joined
Sep 10, 2002
Messages
84
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
597
power supply 0-30v 2a schematic

where is it?
 

HFman

Newbie level 6
Joined
Jul 13, 2002
Messages
11
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
8
lm723 0-30v 0-10 a

Mmm normal you can click on something but i can't find't it to..

can sombody help us ?

Greetz
 

MrEd

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Apr 26, 2001
Messages
108
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Location
the Singularity
Activity points
1,028
power supply 0-30v 2a schematic

Check out OP548 (I think it is called) a power OP with built in current limit.
That OP with a CPU with two PWM outputs will make a very few component PSU.

Check out TI for free samples sent overnight with UPS. Very impressive.

MrEd
 

powerm

Member level 2
Joined
May 15, 2002
Messages
43
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
229
0 to 30v and with load current from 0 to 10a

sorry, what is PS??
 

dainis

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
May 15, 2001
Messages
1,126
Helped
53
Reputation
106
Reaction score
9
Trophy points
1,318
Activity points
9,271
5 30v 2a supply

"PS" - "Power Supply" !
 

hadihf

Full Member level 3
Joined
Mar 29, 2002
Messages
150
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Planet Earth
Activity points
1,129
my power alimentation 12 volt 2a

Hi,
I am attaching Schematic and component placemet for the PS...i will post the PCB and component list tomarrow.
Regards
 

kyndal

Member level 4
Joined
Feb 16, 2003
Messages
68
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
878
power suplies 0 to 30v schematics

Hi..
looks good, this ps. although i am looking to make a
dual powersupply (yes then i can make 2 and put them together)
but my problem is.. i would like to make it 0 - 10 amp insted.

is it posible to change this circuit to fit that spec
(0-30 V 0-10 A)

or does anybody have other circuit that will fit this?

/Rune Kyndal
 

sda

Member level 5
Joined
Apr 22, 2002
Messages
89
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
Greece
Activity points
819
lm723 0-25v

For 10A, you'll have to double the transformer's current output capabilities, IE 12~15A, double if not quadriple the reservior capacitors capacity, and double again the series output transistors (parallel with the apropriate ballast resistors), assuming that the drive current is sufficient.
With series power supplies, the problem is obtaining low voltages at high currents, as the series drop transistors have to dissipate the extra power.

For example,-
If your input voltage is 36v, and your output is 5v at 10a, the series transistors have to dissipate 310W !!!!., and this for a 50w load :(

Cheers
sda
 

kyndal

Member level 4
Joined
Feb 16, 2003
Messages
68
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
878
lm723-power-supply-0-25v

i know that i will need a large heatsink.. probally actively cooled aswell..

but i have a rather large "ring core" transformer, able to delivere 36volts at 20 amps (2x) which i would like to use..
and putting it in a 2a ps would be a waste :)

im looking at a velleman kit K7200RS it vis rated at 30 volts, 10 amps.
single supply. i would like to build this, but frankly the kit is to expencive.
i have component list but i need the pcb..

anyone got this? photograf of it will do!!

/Kyndal
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top