Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Power Line Communication over a DC Bus?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mr.Cool

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Jun 20, 2001
Messages
664
Helped
87
Reputation
178
Reaction score
60
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
7,111
dc power line communication

anyone have success with power line communication over a DC bus? or know of any research papers on the subject? anyone selling such a product?

Mr.Cool
 

IanP

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
7,942
Helped
2,311
Reputation
4,624
Reaction score
531
Trophy points
1,393
Location
West Coast
Activity points
66,416
dc powerline communication

It is not difficult to "inject" data on top of dc ..
Take a look at this:


Regards,
IanP
 

PaulHolland

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Jan 15, 2003
Messages
664
Helped
95
Reputation
190
Reaction score
34
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Holland
Activity points
4,841

    Mr.Cool

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

andre_luis

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 7, 2006
Messages
9,318
Helped
1,166
Reputation
2,351
Reaction score
1,152
Trophy points
1,403
Location
Brazil
Activity points
54,320
communication over dc power

I hear some time ago, a project in a german supermarket, in wich light bright was modulated with a digital protocol; So, the price at each shelf could be updated this way. ( a simple LCD modul with LED sensor ).

Note.: The rate this communication was done is high enough to be not detected by human eye.


+++
 

Mr.Cool

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Jun 20, 2001
Messages
664
Helped
87
Reputation
178
Reaction score
60
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
7,111
communication over dc power line

thanks PaulHolland, that MIT thesis is exactly the kind of information i was looking for.

i am familiar with yamar's products. i think they are on the right track but they lack funding and protocal agreement between corporations to make it workable.

IanP, thx for the the tip.

if you come across any research paper or some such please post it here.

thx for the help,
Mr.Cool
 

Yair

Newbie level 1
Joined
Sep 18, 2007
Messages
1
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,286
dc powerline over dc bus

Hello,

Already there are too many protocols, therefore, we in Yamar developed solutions that do not require special protocols.
The DC-LIN allows data transfer of any UART message over the powerline in speeds up to 57.6Kbps. As a result, the LIN protocol can operate over the powerline without modifications.
https://www.yamar.com/DC-LIN.html
 

Mr.Cool

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Jun 20, 2001
Messages
664
Helped
87
Reputation
178
Reaction score
60
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
7,111
simple uart over dc power

ohhh ahhh... i'll take a second look at yamar :)

what would i have to change to be able to use this device on a 540Vdc bus?
 

yuvko

Member level 4
Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
74
Helped
19
Reputation
38
Reaction score
17
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,596
dc power line over dc bus

the device is coupled to the dc bus through a capacitor, so execpt of choosing a capacitor that will handle this DC voltage, i dont think you will need to change much.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top