Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Power Divider Performance Testing

Status
Not open for further replies.

luckyali

Member level 5
Joined
Jun 6, 2011
Messages
84
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Germany
Activity points
1,966
Hallo every one,
I have designed a power splitter for 20 Ghz, the design has been fabricated and fitted into its housing.
In order to compair its performance results from simulation with actual, I have to test this device. Can any one guide me how to do this testing with Lab equipments to get real results...

many thanks in Advance
wishes for a nice day
 

johnjoe

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
May 11, 2009
Messages
557
Helped
130
Reputation
260
Reaction score
125
Trophy points
1,323
Activity points
3,794
Hi,

it depends on what you have, i mean what kind of measurement equipment. Tell us! Than it's easy to answer.
 

V

volker_muehlhaus

Guest
If you have a two port network analyzer, you can measure these paths:
- input to output 1 (with port 2 connected to 50 ohm load)
- input to output 2 (with port 1 connected to 50 ohm load)
- output 1 to output 2 (check "isolation", input connected to 50 ohm load)
 

luckyali

Member level 5
Joined
Jun 6, 2011
Messages
84
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Germany
Activity points
1,966
yes i do have access to a network analyzer, can i get a tutorial for how to make measurements with network analyzer...
 

V

volker_muehlhaus

Guest
can i get a tutorial for how to make measurements with network analyzer...
No manuals?

The details depends on the VNA manufacturer and model.
Try to find someone in your lab who can show this to you, for your instrument.
Don't forget to talk about VNA calibration also, because this VERY important to get accurate results.
 

luckyali

Member level 5
Joined
Jun 6, 2011
Messages
84
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Germany
Activity points
1,966
I tried to Use VNA from Agilent Company, and I got some Results, I saved them as *.csa format.
In order to redraw the results image, How Can I read this file on my pc...
 

V

volker_muehlhaus

Guest
Wrong file - the *.csa is the instrument calibration and instrument state.
You need to save measurement results in Touchstone (s2p) file format.
 

KRISz

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Dec 10, 2008
Messages
27
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,395
You save file s2p from VNA and can open file form ADS simulation.
 

luckyali

Member level 5
Joined
Jun 6, 2011
Messages
84
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Germany
Activity points
1,966
If you have a two port network analyzer, you can measure these paths:
- input to output 1 (with port 2 connected to 50 ohm load)
- input to output 2 (with port 1 connected to 50 ohm load)
- output 1 to output 2 (check "isolation", input connected to 50 ohm load)
I have measured the divider circuit and saved the network analyser results.. here you can check them in a pdf fomate, all of the parameters are inside S11, (S12/S21), (S13/S31), S22, (S32/S23),S33.
View attachment S-Parameters.pdf
What can you comment about these results...
 

luckyali

Member level 5
Joined
Jun 6, 2011
Messages
84
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Germany
Activity points
1,966
oh no, can you give some suggestions for improvement bcoz i am not an expert in this thing, I just read from book and tried to design it...
 

eraste

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Nov 12, 2012
Messages
103
Helped
31
Reputation
58
Reaction score
29
Trophy points
1,308
Location
France
Activity points
1,938
If i suppose that 1 is the input, 2 and 3 the outputs of your splitter.
For a splitter, transfert from input to ouputs must be -3dB. It's not your case. Return loss seems to be to high (about -12 dB and - 8 dB). Isolation between out port seems to be low. Effectively, you have to re-design it. What technology do you use ? Microstrip ? cable ?
 

luckyali

Member level 5
Joined
Jun 6, 2011
Messages
84
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Germany
Activity points
1,966
yes I am using Microstrip. it was designed on Roger, RO4003C, 8 mil thickness and 17.5 um copper cladding... here is the picture to structure... input is at 3 where 2 and 1 are ouputs...
Since I was using a 2 port VNA so i renamed the pics saved from VNA according to my design...View attachment 83453
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top