Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Picking a PCB layout software

Status
Not open for further replies.

tinkerer73

Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I'm a hobbyist that's just getting into PCBs, and my current project is presenting a challenge for me. I have the need to place components in a semi-circular pattern. I have been using PCB123 by Sunstone circuits, but their method for doing such a pattern is giving me poor results for what I need. I have tried various different ways to come up with the pattern I need, but I have had no luck. I'm a Solidworks user, and I can whip through creating patterns on that, so I'm not sure if it's just my familiarity with their style, or if it's really that PCB123 is not able to suit my needs.

What are other options for free/inexpensive PCB layout that can do this, and that can handle a decent size board? (I've looked at Eagle, but unless you get up to the expensive version, it will not handle the size I need).

I'm using SMT components, and I'm looking to run 64 0805 size RGB LEDs in a semicircular pattern of approximately 260°. When I try creating a footprint in PCB123, I can make a good pattern using holes, but not pads.

Help is greatly appreciated.

Re: Need help with picking a PCB layout software

Can you draw a circle with lines extending from the centre in solidworks - to give you the locations and then import that into say Eagle (dxf?), then place the LED's on the cross points?

I know that you could do this in CADSTAR as there is a routine to do it however am not so sure for a hobby program.

You can import dxf files into Eagle. It is in a ULP.