Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PIC MICROCONTROLLER - PID CONTROL ( C )

samu1214

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I'm relatively new in C program ( I'm using MPLAB X IDE XC8 ), and first time trying to make a PID control, using a PIC16F15223

This is what I want to make:

• The pic has an analog input that reads a SHUNT resistor. This will oscillate between 0-3V, so in the code between 0-615.
  • The pic has a PWM output with a fixed frequency of 100hz, the duty cycle will oscillate between 0% and 100%.
  • This is for controlling the current charge of a battery ( lead-acid ). The control is made with two SCRs making a full bridge rectifier ( with the transformer with a center tap ), the gate of the SCRs its controlled by a MOC3021 ( optocoupler ), and the MOC3021 its controlled by the PWM output of the PIC16F15223.
  • I'm having troubles with the code in C. Firstly because I never made a PID control, and then because I search some of them in the internet but I dont know how to implement them.
  • I read the current and store it in an INT variable called measured_current. Then I put it in the calculate_PID program, and that return's me a value. So that value it's the current that I will have to send as a PWM signal until it reaches a SET POINT, and then it will maintain this current to work as a constant current charge. The problem it's that I don't know how to turn this output value of the pid as a pwm duty cycle. In fact I'm not sure that the PID code its ok, because it was taked from a general PID code from internet...