Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

PIC 16F84A & PIC 16C56A

Status
Not open for further replies.

wutc

Newbie level 5
Joined
Jul 23, 2002
Messages
9
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
31
16c56a

I write a program that can be running in 16F84A but can't run in 16C56A.
In the include file,i have change to "pic165x.h" from "pic16f84".
Who can help me thk.
I am looking for IAR for pic not for pic18,too.thk

best regard!!
 

donkey41

Full Member level 1
Joined
Feb 19, 2002
Messages
99
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Pakistan
Activity points
949
internal structure of a pic16f84a

hi there,

what kind of program have you written? as far as i can remember, internal structure (registers size etc.) is different in both µs, and more importantly, PICs are (generely) not downward compatible.

I have IAR EWPIC, but it is not the actuall version. It is about 9MB.
how can you collect it ?
 

wutc

Newbie level 5
Joined
Jul 23, 2002
Messages
9
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
31
16f84a stack

This program is written with C language.
 

kartofel

Newbie level 2
Joined
Jan 11, 2002
Messages
2
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
36
It is hard to tell you what to do without haveing a look at both the schematic and source code. Make sure u include proper header files like eg. PIC16C56 in your c code. Check your code and possibly rewrite sections that are precessor dependant eg. timers ( 8 bit vs. 16), interrupts etc. If you written the source in c, that should not be a problem.
Cheers :D
 

Dr.Charles

Newbie level 6
Joined
May 28, 2002
Messages
12
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
16
Hi,

i work many years ago with pic , if i remember corect the 84 have a differet stack depth , i think th 56 have only a 2 level stack.
if you call moretimes subroutine from subroutine you will loose the return-adress, check the struckture aof the programm....

i hope its help you

bye
joe

73 !
 

pva

Junior Member level 3
Joined
May 20, 2003
Messages
26
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
221
look at

h**p://www.orlov.wapil.com/ftp/Ebedded/IAR/FILES.HTM
 

volta

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Sep 8, 2003
Messages
30
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
Sweden
Activity points
265
PICS are different

All PICS have different architectures for example :

- All have diffent number of ports
- All have differnt register mappings
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top