Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

PCB control impedance calculation

Status
Not open for further replies.

DimaA

Member level 3
Joined
Jan 19, 2004
Messages
66
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
563
impedance calculation

I have 6-layers stackup:

-----SIGNAL
-----GND
-----SIGNAL
-----SIGNAL
-----VCC
-----SIGNAL

the board is for PCI express cards, with differential lines, that must be impedance controlled to 100 Ohm differential.
For top layer and layer 3, the reference layer is the GND layer and I can use the microstrip model for calculationg the impedance.But how to calculate impedance for layer 4 and bottom layer? They don't have adjacent reference GND layer.
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
48,908
Helped
14,332
Reputation
28,927
Reaction score
13,077
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
282,214
impedence control calculation

VCC can be considered as transmission line "GND" as well.
 

DimaA

Member level 3
Joined
Jan 19, 2004
Messages
66
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
563
pcb control

But when the VCC layer consisted of many VCC islands,each island is different voltage, can it be still consisted as reference plane?
 

tianmen

Newbie level 1
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
1
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,284
pcb impedence control caculation

Yes. It is still a "GND" for high frequency.
 

loosemoose

Full Member level 5
Joined
Dec 9, 2008
Messages
319
Helped
128
Reputation
258
Reaction score
115
Trophy points
1,323
Location
Vancouver, BC
Activity points
2,662
just don't run any critical signal across the gap in the planes. it will increase your return path for those signals and may ruin your noise budget.
 

dmd4raj

Member level 4
Joined
Jun 23, 2008
Messages
69
Helped
11
Reputation
22
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,722
Though you have different Power plane with different voltage level consider the PWr plane corresponding to the voltage level of traces.For example If USB traces are routed consider the 1.8v or 2.3v of USB supply voltage plane as reference and similarly For Ethernet it operates at 3.3V,so consider 3.3v plane as reference plane..


Regards
Rajan.k
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top