Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Novice questions : voltage in a circuit and zener diodes

Status
Not open for further replies.

bdl

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I'm a novice with electronics, I understand most of the basics but I do have what may be dumb questions:

1) In relation to a circuit, how is voltage maintained? My thinking is that if a component in a circuit requires 3V, for example, and I use two "AA" cells to power the circuit, the power source is a constant and all components always have 3V to use. Or is it that each component "leaches off" a bit so that when current reaches a power critical component (an IC of some sort let's say) in the circuit, it's "cheated" in some way? Do I need to calculate the total circuit power requirement to avoid drop-out? If I do this, and add 5V to the circuit, do I simply need to use resistors to limit power to a certain component?

2) What is a practical, real-world application of the Zener diode vs a standard diode? I've used what I would consider a "regular" diode to prevent reverse current flow, how does this differ from what a Zener diode can offer? Some tutorials use them in circuit design to prevent reverse current, is this the correct use of these diodes?

It depends on the application, but most circuitry uses a fixed voltage (or two) and the supply voltage (e.g. batteries) is regulated to that voltage. Provided the circuit is designed correctly that voltage will not vary with the load or as the battery voltage drops.