Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Low Power Low Voltage ADC

Status
Not open for further replies.

wjaachen

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
low-voltage adc

Hello everybody,
I am a PhD student from Germany. I am going to design a low power low voltage integrated ADC for the application of temperature measurement. I learned basic knowledge of ADC in the university, but I have not designed it before. So I have a lot of questions:
1. How should I begin with this design? Is there any good paper to read?
2. Does low voltage mean the same thing as low power for ADC?
3. There are many structures of ADC, such like flash ADC, SAR ADC, pipeline ADC, etc. Which one ist adapted for the low power ADC?
4. Is SNR so important that I must calculate it for the ADC? Or can I just implement one of the ADCs in transistor level in cadence and simulate and test it, whether this ADC good or not?

Thank You very much for Your help!

low voltage adc

wjaachen said:
Hello everybody,
I am a PhD student from Germany. I am going to design a low power low voltage integrated ADC for the application of temperature measurement. I learned basic knowledge of ADC in the university, but I have not designed it before. So I have a lot of questions:
1. How should I begin with this design? Is there any good paper to read?
2. Does low voltage mean the same thing as low power for ADC?
3. There are many structures of ADC, such like flash ADC, SAR ADC, pipeline ADC, etc. Which one ist adapted for the low power ADC?