Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Logical level i2c converter, YES or NO?

Status
Not open for further replies.

erpgc82

Junior Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello friends, I'm new to microcontroller programming and I came across a situation.

Micro in 3.3v, 18LF26K22 and I could not understand if it supports in SDA and SCL 5V. It will be connected to the ds1307 at 5v.

I couldn't understand whether I need YES or NO.
Some say it is necessary to use a logic level converter, others say that it is enough to connect the pull-up resistor to 3.3v.

After all, can I use only the pull-up or do I need to assemble a logic level converter circuit ??

Solution
You need to use a logic level converter I'm afraid. That device has a maximum VDD of 3.6V and none of its pins are 5V tolerant.
level-converter.jpg

A BSS123 is a good alternative to the 2N7000 but any 'logic level' small MOSFET will work. You need one for the SCL and one for the SDA lines.
You can add other 5V i2C devices from the same converter.

Brian.
You need to use a logic level converter I'm afraid. That device has a maximum VDD of 3.6V and none of its pins are 5V tolerant.
level-converter.jpg

A BSS123 is a good alternative to the 2N7000 but any 'logic level' small MOSFET will work. You need one for the SCL and one for the SDA lines.
You can add other 5V i2C devices from the same converter.

Brian.

Solution
I might be wrong here but SDA and SCL both open drain, PIC and RTC, and min logic 1 for DS1307 is 2.2V,
so if buss pullups are to PIC Vcc then everybody is happy. If the pullups dont turn on parasitic diode in