Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

IR2110 Lo and Ho not switching

Status
Not open for further replies.

hornbrd

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everyone, I'm new to this site and new to using forums in general.

I have 2 IR2110 Ic's that run 4 FGA25N120 IGBT trench gates. I am supplying the Lin and Hin with a PWM signal from a LM555. The output on the 555 seems to be switching ok, but when checking the HO and LO output is where I have my problems. Ho stays closed on Q1 and Q3 with around 7V and LO has is open on Q2 and Q4. I'll try to add my drawing of what is going on, but like i said i'm new to this.

Power.jpg

I have been working with this circuit and other parts of it for awhile now, and in the beginning I think everything worked, but here lately I have not been able to get the IR2110 to switch. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

The VDD and VSS connection is incorrect. Consult the datasheet. VSS must be connected to V- and VDD to a 12 to 15 V positive supply.

I have about 12 V going into Vss. If I run the 100nf cap between Vss and Vdd then do i just ground Vdd, or does it need it's own power supply?

Sorry about the picture. The Vss and Vdd are not drawn in the correct place, they should be reversed. I tried hooking up +12 V to Vdd and ran the cap between it and Vss and grounded Vss. I'm still not getting any type of switching. Ho is staying high at around 8 V and Lo is nothing. Do have any other suggestions? This is for a project that i'm working on for school and the deadline is coming very quickly and I would like to have something working.

Thanks guys