Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Ideal product for measuring emitted wifi signals from any device

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello,

I am an electronic hobbyist, basically a noob, trying to research into the field of rf/wifi signal hacking, protection. I am looking for best ideal device that can measure the accurate frequency/bandwith/channel of the emitted wifi signal from any device (laptop, mobile, tablet) etc.

I came across one such device named “ GQ EMF 390 “ RF detector

I am not sure if its accurate enough to detect the signals with some distance and will it be able to detect higher frequency bandwidth like 6-7ghz wifi 6e? Not sure if it even gives the exact frequency of the detected signal (like 2.4ghz, 5.8ghz etc)?

My primary reason is to know if any device (be it laptop, mobile, tablet, or even regular consumer electronics like light bulbs, refrigerators, light sockets, remote controllers etc) have any rogue wifi or any other built in “hidden” rf transceivers to capture and transmit audio/video etc covertly.

Or is a spectrum analyzer more accurate and can give correct reading of the frequency of the emitted signal from any rogue device? If yes then which model can one suggest?

Thanks.

Spectrum Analyzer is the best choice but there are phone applications that can do this job, relatively accurate.