Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

how would i decrease the frequency?

Status
Not open for further replies.

hysamir

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Dec 2, 2005
Messages
21
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,531
I am having my oscillator running at 100Mhz and i want some signal to be at 1Mhz

how would i go from 100 to 1?
 

flatulent

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jul 19, 2002
Messages
4,629
Helped
489
Reputation
980
Reaction score
150
Trophy points
1,343
Location
Middle Earth
Activity points
46,689
You have two main choices. One is to use a digital divider. The other is to make a separate oscillator at the new frequency.
 

eecs4ever

Full Member level 3
Joined
Jan 31, 2006
Messages
179
Helped
28
Reputation
56
Reaction score
10
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Analog Environment
Activity points
2,852
The Oscillation frequency is a function of the capacitance you have in your oscillator.

If you increase the capacitance in your oscillator,
does the frequency become lower?
 

jgarciarivera

Newbie level 5
Joined
Feb 24, 2006
Messages
9
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,360
The choices mentioned are good. Either used a frequency divider realized with J-K flip-flops or change the capacitor value of your oscillator.
 

avlsi

Member level 3
Joined
Jan 27, 2006
Messages
58
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,797
Yeah,its a good idea to use digital divider like divide by 4 circuit. It decreases error also,as you use digital.
 

yaxazaa

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Nov 13, 2004
Messages
118
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
902
don't use two xtal unless you have to. Divided down is the best option
 

avinash

Full Member level 3
Joined
Jul 24, 2004
Messages
160
Helped
10
Reputation
20
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,527
if it is compulsory to use 100MHz oscillator in your circuit,then you have only one option to use digital divider circuit using flipflops to get 1MHz frquency.but it will increase your chip area.so if not compulsory,you should go for new 1MHz oscillator.
 

vlsiattitude

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Mar 5, 2005
Messages
31
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,523
u can generate divide by 100 counter using synchronous counter. i think ripple counter may create problem at high frequency
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top