Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

How to translate Verilog (GATE Level) to Spice(with Standard Cell)?

Status
Not open for further replies.

joe_chuang

Newbie level 6
Joined
Feb 21, 2002
Messages
12
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
28
Does any one know how to translate Verilog (GATE Level) to Spice(with Standard Cell)?
Thanks.
 

1234U

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Feb 8, 2002
Messages
15
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
32
verilog2spice

Is this kind of process possible? :eek:
you may need synthisiser or such befor this stage.
 

G

Guest

Guest
spice to verilog

You can use cadence tools to read in a verilog netlist then generate a spice netlist.
 

joe_chuang

Newbie level 6
Joined
Feb 21, 2002
Messages
12
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
28
edif to spice

To Jaz:
I only have SPICE CELL, I don't have Standard Cell Library for Cadence. I have ever used Verilog In of Cadence to generate netlist. The Cadence will create symbol for Standard cell.But the pin order of the symbol doesn't match to Spice Cell. Would you tell me how to chang the pin order to match the SPICE CELL?
Thnaks a lot.
 

Nobody

Full Member level 3
Joined
Oct 4, 2001
Messages
165
Helped
9
Reputation
16
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Formosa
Activity points
1,593
v2s verilog to spice

May u can try the ECS (Cohesion ).
They have ASCII library format.
And there are SDK which can build ur own script to solve ur problem by programing their tool.
I saw there is a sample script to translate
verilog into symbol lib.
 

rfsystem

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Feb 25, 2002
Messages
914
Helped
148
Reputation
292
Reaction score
38
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Germany
Activity points
9,550
spice 2 verilog

If you only have to translate a Verilog Gate Level netlist into spice you should do that with a script. The gate level netlist is flat and uses unordered pins. That is in contrast to spice where the order is In/Bidirectional/Out and then lexical. So the script have to order the pins. Cadence for example does store internal regarding some order. That is why sometime if you edit Symbol and Schematic the order get confused.
 

andy2000a

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Jul 18, 2001
Messages
597
Helped
14
Reputation
28
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
5,298
site:www.edaboard.com spef syntax

ECO change netlist
1. verilog --> design analyzer --> edif output ---> ECS6.0 edit & change
cell--> spice

2. verilog --> gatevision ---> edif output ---> ECS6.0 edit & change cell-->
spice

3. RC-extract debug
SPEF netlist --> spicevision Pro

4. use Layout tool Hercula_nettran function

5. nassda tool
v2s to convert verilog netlist to spice
Command syntax
v2s <verilogFile> -s <cellSpiceFile> -o design.sp
<verilogFile>: input verilog file
<cellSpiceFile>: ASIC cells spice netlist
In case a memory block exists in the design, the simulation time can become
very long. As a result, it is recommended to use an equivalent skeleton (an
empty shell with only capacitors connected to the input ports) to replace
the memory block in the design.
A utility lib2spice can generate the skeletons from the .lib files.
lib2spice –i <libFile> -o <spiceFile>
<libFile>: input Synopsys .lib file
<spiceFile>: output skeleton file

6. verilog ---> DA --> edif --> viewdraw --> spice
 

CatKing

Full Member level 3
Joined
Jun 5, 2001
Messages
157
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,129
gate level netlist sample verilog

you must have spice netlist of all cells, then use some netlist translator to translate the verilog netlist into spice netlist.
The translated netlist only shows the connection of std cells, same as edif/sch or hdl netlist, but you can include the spice netlist of std cells as subckt, then you can do simulation of your circuits.
 

elone

Member level 3
Joined
Dec 29, 2001
Messages
63
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
402
how to convert verilog to gate level

As i know , na$$da h$im contain a translator of verilog2spice !
 

cadb0y

Member level 3
Joined
Feb 6, 2002
Messages
57
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
479
liberty file from spice scripts

I do not think verilog has enough info to change into spice. You can change from spice to verilog.
 

andy2000a

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Jul 18, 2001
Messages
597
Helped
14
Reputation
28
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
5,298
translateur netlist verilog to spice

hsim have utility called "v2s"

it can convert gate level verilog , and mapping to standard_cell
library , then convert verilog netlist to spice netlist ..

you can get V2S ( PC version is "dos" command ..)
 

xtecer

Newbie level 6
Joined
Jun 10, 2001
Messages
12
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
50
generating a spice file from verilog file

Nobody said:
May u can try the ECS (Cohesion ).
They have ASCII library format.
And there are SDK which can build ur own script to solve ur problem by programing their tool.
I saw there is a sample script to translate
verilog into symbol lib.
ESC NOW in Xilinx ISE ?
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top