Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

how to start xilinix fpga?

Status
Not open for further replies.

7rots51

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
May 17, 2002
Messages
1,184
Helped
25
Reputation
50
Reaction score
12
Trophy points
1,318
Activity points
9,651
xilini is it ok to use schematic

Hi

Please say that what is my need to start xilinix FPGA /CPLD design?
(soft+hardwares)

I checked the altera and xilinix but I chose xilinix,what is your idea about this?

Whic is lower cost at same gates?

bye
 

Sonic

Member level 2
Joined
Sep 30, 2001
Messages
45
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Location
USA
Activity points
351
either one is a good choice, you can start with the free web version of the tools enter your design in schematic and or hdl then target a device likely to hold your design.

both companies have tutorials many appnotes you can follow.
 

shawndaking

Full Member level 3
Joined
Jun 20, 2001
Messages
187
Helped
12
Reputation
24
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,077
A START IS TO UNDERSTAND YOU'R DEVICE !

FIRST YOU SHOULD READ ABOUT THE DEVICE, AND THE TO OPERATE THE TOOLS !
 

Laplace

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Feb 26, 2002
Messages
103
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
659
You sould compare them depending on your gate needs. Xi/linx has larger and faster devices but they are really expensive (multi-million gate FPGAs)

However, if you need only 10K-500K gate, @ltare would be cheaper.

Regards.
 

Bartart

Full Member level 2
Joined
Feb 20, 2002
Messages
124
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Europt
Activity points
1,109
Hi!



As the people before said you must consider the n° of gates and that depend of the application that you would like to do.
I am using FPGA in DSP purpose and x*l*nx offer much better solutions then @ltera.

About the price issue they are quite equal.

The reason Why I did chose x*l*nx was the support and the tools.

Good luck, Bart
 

7rots51

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
May 17, 2002
Messages
1,184
Helped
25
Reputation
50
Reaction score
12
Trophy points
1,318
Activity points
9,651
I need 10k to 500k ,and my applications is in this range,xilini*x site says that at the same price their FPGA have more gates(80%) !
is that correct?

BTW: say something about their softwares and tools .
 

venz

Full Member level 2
Joined
May 30, 2001
Messages
129
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
795
I'm not sure what that means, but i recently checked prices at my local componentvendor and the price for a Spartan 20kgate was higher than the SpartanII 200kgate.

The backdraw of this is that the configuration memory for the SpartanII 200kgate is higher than for the Spartan 20kgate.
This is always the case with FPGA's:
The higher the Gate Count, the more expensive the configuration memory is.

Another problem is design protection.
If you design some nice system with your FPGA and you don't want any of your competitors to 'copy' your design, you're in trouble.
I don't know any solution to this problem.
(One solution could be to implement a part of your design into a CPLD)

greetz, venz.
 

Jayson

Full Member level 4
Joined
Oct 8, 2001
Messages
234
Helped
14
Reputation
28
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Brazil
Activity points
2,338
Are there any companies that can turn an FPGA design into an ASIC?

- Jayson
 

Bus Master

Full Member level 3
Joined
Dec 9, 2001
Messages
187
Helped
9
Reputation
18
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Just behind You ;-)
Activity points
1,462
Hi venz,

Do u mean that FPGAs does not include a "security bits" or something like that to protect the programmed structure of the chip.... this is really ODD. :?
 

dainis

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
May 15, 2001
Messages
1,126
Helped
53
Reputation
106
Reaction score
9
Trophy points
1,318
Activity points
9,271
Good site about FPGA:
h**p://w*w.optimagic.com/
Low cost XILINK FPGA boards:
h**p://w*w.BurchED.com.au/
 

Bartart

Full Member level 2
Joined
Feb 20, 2002
Messages
124
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Europt
Activity points
1,109
Bus Master said:
Hi venz,

Do u mean that FPGAs does not include a "security bits" or something like that to protect the programmed structure of the chip.... this is really ODD. :?

Virtex2 has some security mechanism like PIC devices



4 Jayson

There are several companies that do that, (x*l*nx, @ltera, Flextron*cs...)


Bart
 

venz

Full Member level 2
Joined
May 30, 2001
Messages
129
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
795
Hi,

concerning the conversion of FPGA to ASIC.

I have asked this question to Xilinx and they used to offer this service, but don;t anymore.
The cost was fairly low.
Now you have to go to commercial FPGA to ASIC conversion vendors.
They charge you up to $50.000 (ex. VAT) for a conversion.
You have to supply the designs, testbenches and all the help they need from you.

You get a minimum of 1000 chips for that price, but that is a little expensive if you need only 1. ;-)

Some other chpi manufacturers still offer this service, but it is still fairly expensive...

try to use CPLD's (Multiples of you can't fit it in one), AntiFuse FPGA's or Vitrex who can offer DES encryption for the configuration Stream.

greetz, venz.
 

venz

Full Member level 2
Joined
May 30, 2001
Messages
129
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
795
I forgot to mention, there are several other techniques in copyprotecting your design.

Use a Microcontroller or PLD next to your FPGA for some sort of Security. Or put a critical design feature in the microcontroller or PLD.

Another is sealing your hardware in Epoxy raisin.
(That doesn't work that great i can tell you)

DON'T make the mistake to configure your FPGA through PLD or Microcontroller and think your safe here.
The configuration stream can easily be tapped an reproduced in a prom.
(Tried it once and is EASY)

greetz, venz.
 

TurboPC

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Mar 14, 2002
Messages
112
Helped
15
Reputation
30
Reaction score
14
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,154
venz said:
Another problem is design protection.
If you design some nice system with your FPGA and you don't want any of your competitors to 'copy' your design, you're in trouble.
I don't know any solution to this problem.
(One solution could be to implement a part of your design into a CPLD)

greetz, venz.
Newer devices with Xilinx can solve this problem. They have an encryption code inside the FPGA. If the FPGA does not have the proper encryption code, the device does not program.

However clever this seems, they rely on a battery to maintain the encryption code in the fpga. You loose the battery and you will have to re-program the encryption code otherwise your design is dead.

Fools! Why not some sort of non-volatile memory?
 

BGA

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Apr 25, 2001
Messages
111
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
751
Hi Jayson,
look for HardCopy Devices from Altera.
Best Regards.
 

TurboPC

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Mar 14, 2002
Messages
112
Helped
15
Reputation
30
Reaction score
14
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,154
BGA said:
Hi Jayson,
look for HardCopy Devices from @ltera.
Best Regards.
You are right! I heard 50$ USD for the EP1S25 (Stratix) hardcopy for something like 10,000 units quantity, instead of the regular 250$ USD + the expansive EEprom.

Hardcopy is definitively not in the price range of the home hobbyist. :lol: :lol: :lol:
 

BGA

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Apr 25, 2001
Messages
111
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
751
I didn't know you're an home hobbist .... excuse me.
 

TurboPC

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Mar 14, 2002
Messages
112
Helped
15
Reputation
30
Reaction score
14
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,154
BGA said:
I didn't know you're an home hobbist .... excuse me.
I'm not! I was just trying to be funny... Didn't work...

I edited my previous post to highlight my humor... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Good day to all...
 

TurboPC

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Mar 14, 2002
Messages
112
Helped
15
Reputation
30
Reaction score
14
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,154
Arrrg! Sorry for the multiple redundant posts...
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top