Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to properly do AC open loop LDO simulation?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jutek

Full Member level 4
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
211
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,140
hello

could you tell me how to do AC open loop LDO simulation properly?

how the inputs should be polarized when i open the loop to pass device give me the current i want to

when i do transient and op analyses, everything is ok. vref is connected to - and output voltage through feedback divider to +.

i want the AC simulation to be adequate TRANSIENT simulation, to be sure how gain, UGF and pole/zero position influence transient response

thanks in advance

regards
 

Chethan

Full Member level 3
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Messages
173
Helped
20
Reputation
40
Reaction score
12
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Bangalore
Activity points
2,837
ldo ac simulation

jutek said:
hello

could you tell me how to do AC open loop LDO simulation properly?

how the inputs should be polarized when i open the loop to pass device give me the current i want to

when i do transient and op analyses, everything is ok. vref is connected to - and output voltage through feedback divider to +.

i want the AC simulation to be adequate TRANSIENT simulation, to be sure how gain, UGF and pole/zero position influence transient response

thanks in advance

regards

Hi ,
In the attached pdf go to AC analysis ( page 17, Chapter 2). It clearly explains where the loop must be broken in order to do ac analysis.
 

Attachments

  • ldo_book_140.pdf
    3.2 MB · Views: 484

jutek

Full Member level 4
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
211
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,140
ac response ldo

hello

yes, i have this book, and i exactly break the loop in this place. but what should be connected to - after breaking? if i use only AC=0.1 and no DC value the result is not good cause opamp is not polarized well
 

allan_guo

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Jan 6, 2006
Messages
28
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,555
ldo simulation setup to characterize the design

jutek said:
hello

yes, i have this book, and i exactly break the loop in this place. but what should be connected to - after breaking? if i use only AC=0.1 and no DC value the result is not good cause opamp is not polarized well

Add large R&C in your feedback path,you can build up the DC point and break the AC feedback path.
 
  • Like
Reactions: #oz

    #oz

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

moyu

Newbie level 3
Joined
Feb 3, 2006
Messages
4
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,307
ldo ac analysis

add a dc offset voltage at the input pin,
exmple:vin in 0 dc 1.25 ac 1
 

pswatw

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
18
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,425
break loop pole/zero hspice

add a dc offset voltage at the input pin,
exmple:vin in 0 dc 1.25 ac 1

Yes, remerber to add a dc voltage.
The dc voltage would make the DC operation point accurate.
 

yaxazaa

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Nov 13, 2004
Messages
118
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
902
ldo simulation setup

in hspice there is a resistance that when dc the value is zero, but when ac, it is open. Can we just use the thing?
 

butterfish

Full Member level 2
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
135
Helped
9
Reputation
18
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
china
Activity points
2,018
ldo current profiles

add a ac resister(dc=0.001Ohm, ac=1000,000kOhm) between the two break point;
feed ac signal in though a 1F capacitor;

Added after 8 minutes:

also, please aware the loading on the open loop output point,
it should have the same loading with which in close loop.
 

Markie

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Nov 16, 2004
Messages
25
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
214
ac analysis of ldo

I also confused it, sometimes, I use the AC source with ac=1V to break the loop.

sometime, I use the resistor with AC=1G , and a cap=1F . and sometime, I use

the ind=1G and a cap =1F.

the only diff thing I thought is the phase of it different. But offten, the gain plot is

also diff.

So, I use the method mostly equal what I think it should be.
 

alenhan

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
17
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,410
how to do ac analysis of ldo

another way is add a large inductor on you feedback path, and a capacitor connect to ground from opamp side. this may help you to do AC simulation.
 

myblues

Newbie level 5
Joined
Oct 13, 2005
Messages
10
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,358
ac anslysis of ldo

alenhan said:
another way is add a large inductor on you feedback path, and a capacitor connect to ground from opamp side. this may help you to do AC simulation.

this maybe a good idea!
but it could make some other problem. when I connect a capacitor (c=10p) parallelled with resistor R3, it should bring a pole and a zero. But because the large capacitor(c=1KF) connected in the input so by hspice simulation the capacitor parallelled with the resistor R3 will not take some effect!

30_1169454991.GIF
 

safwatonline

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
1,346
Helped
219
Reputation
438
Reaction score
47
Trophy points
1,328
Location
EGYPT
Activity points
9,045
ads simulation ldo

another way is to use two LDOs , one closed loop and the other is open loop , then use the closed loop LDO to get the DC for the open loop LDO.
 

mark_nctu

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
May 7, 2001
Messages
111
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Location
TW
Activity points
683
ldo simulations

1/(C_OL*L_OL)^0.5 must be less than simulation min. frequency.
 

letan

Member level 3
Joined
May 21, 2007
Messages
64
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
VietNam
Activity points
1,713
ldo openloop simulation

hi mark_nctu!
Why 1/(C_OL*L_OL)^0.5 must be less than simulation min. freq? Can you explain it for me?
Thanks.
 

gavinchiu

Newbie level 3
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
4
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,294
ldo spice simulation

Can I use the resistor instead of the inductor for AC simulation.
 

paley

Member level 4
Joined
Mar 3, 2006
Messages
78
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,595
coolroyy

myblues said:
alenhan said:
another way is add a large inductor on you feedback path, and a capacitor connect to ground from opamp side. this may help you to do AC simulation.

this maybe a good idea!
but it could make some other problem. when I connect a capacitor (c=10p) parallelled with resistor R3, it should bring a pole and a zero. But because the large capacitor(c=1KF) connected in the input so by hspice simulation the capacitor parallelled with the resistor R3 will not take some effect!

30_1169454991.GIF


pls check the ac response in the VDIV

Added after 1 minutes:

gavinchiu said:
Can I use the resistor instead of the inductor for AC simulation.

Yes,but the res must very large
 

analog_prodigy

Full Member level 2
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
141
Helped
14
Reputation
28
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Location
India
Activity points
1,936
LDO AC simulaton

You can break the loop using L (1G) and C(1F) values. AC signal can pass through the capacitor and inductor allows DC value and breaks the loop
 

babunp114525

Newbie level 3
Joined
Jul 3, 2007
Messages
4
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,302
Re: LDO AC simulaton

Please find the attach document for more clarification
 

Attachments

  • f4_3269.pdf
    149.2 KB · Views: 165

    V

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

coolroyy

Newbie level 2
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
2
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,287
LDO AC simulaton

really good one,i just need this,support!
 

terryabcabc

Newbie level 1
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
1
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,284
Re: LDO AC simulaton

i would like to ask how to get this book by free of charge
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top