Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

how setup time reduce?

Status
Not open for further replies.

sunil_ic

Newbie level 5
Joined
May 22, 2006
Messages
8
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,325
Dear all,
I found that if we connect more flip flop in cascade then we can reduce the setup time. Is it true ? how ?
Thanks
 

vamsi_addagada

Full Member level 2
Joined
Jul 5, 2007
Messages
132
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
bangalore
Activity points
2,071
hi sunil
no yaar .first u r increase the time period and decrease the delay of data path

Added after 2 minutes:

vamsi
 

s_prasan

Newbie level 3
Joined
Dec 8, 2006
Messages
4
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,302
Hi Sunil,

Normally when we see a very long data path betn flops, the setup tends to violate. One of teh ways to fix it is to break the data path into two by inserting a flop in between. Thus, it appears as a cascade!!!
 

ameed

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jun 28, 2007
Messages
107
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Location
INDIA
Activity points
1,931
hi,
possible only with parallel processing.:idea:



thanx......
 

sunil_ic

Newbie level 5
Joined
May 22, 2006
Messages
8
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,325
Dear,
You misunderstood my question. Actually I have a flip flop of standard cell library. Now its setup time is fixed. Recently in one interview I was asked how can we reduce that setup time. And the answer was, if we connect the flip flops in cascade we can reduce the setup time with out touching the combinational logic. But I am confused how can it happen ? Say we have two flip flop having 1ns setup time and in between those flops we have combinational logic having 150ns propagation delay. now clock is running such that setup time violation occuring. So without touching the combinational logic and clock, how can we to reduce the setup time of the second flipflop to 0.5ns ?
Thanks
 

amitjagtap

Full Member level 5
Joined
Jan 10, 2007
Messages
304
Helped
42
Reputation
84
Reaction score
36
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
3,273
hi sunil
I read ur question.
we can not change the minimum setup time req of 2nd ff.
I think setup time violation for 2nd FF can be avoided by putting a buffer in clock path of 2nd FF.So that clk edge will come late(buffer delay) at 2nd FF,where as data is present at usual time.
I'm not getting the concept of cascading of FF.
thanks, eager to hear from u.
 

sunil_ic

Newbie level 5
Joined
May 22, 2006
Messages
8
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,325
I also eager to know the reason.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top