Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How does exactly GPIB work?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sahara

Member level 5
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
83
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,859
i want to know how exctaly GPIB works?.how much instrument can i connect using GPIB..and how?.
 

Mr_Sparkle

Newbie level 3
Joined
Apr 2, 2008
Messages
3
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,296
Re: Working for GPIB

Hi

I have used about 6 instruments at once

Its good to have a unit that can display whats happening on the BUS (not sure whats its called)

Mr_Sparkle
 

Sahara

Member level 5
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
83
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,859
Re: Working for GPIB

can u please share some the details of your project..so i can understand exctly what u had done in it...

what is the transfer rate that u r getting at each instruement's interfce(GPIB)
 

tkt

Newbie level 4
Joined
Mar 15, 2008
Messages
5
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,296
Re: Working for GPIB

i wanna know how too
 

yviswanathbe

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jun 14, 2007
Messages
221
Helped
10
Reputation
20
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,065
Re: Working for GPIB

hi,
U can connect 14 instruments at a time.
when u send a command, all the instruments will listen your request,but only one instrument will reposnd to your request,i.e.,u can speak to one instrument at a time.

I have interfaced 8 instruments using VB6.0
I have used agilent GPIB pci card for interfacing from the PC.
I am attaching some sample code understand it first and if u have any doubt mail me at yviswanathbe@gmail.com

************************************************************
CODE FOR 'SPECTRUM ANALYZER
'************************************************************
Call viOpenDefaultRM(defrm)
'Connecting to the device address
Call viOpen(defrm, "GPIB::18::INSTR", 0, 0, vi)
'INSTRUMENT PRESET
Call viVPrintf(vi, "IP?" + Chr$(10), 0)
'CENTER FREQUENCY
Call viVPrintf(vi, "CF value" + Chr$(10), 0)
'SPAN
Call viVPrintf(vi, "SP value" + Chr$(10), 0)
'PEAK SEARCH
Call viVPrintf(vi, "MKPK HI " + Chr$(10), 0)
'MARKER DELTA
Call viVPrintf(vi, "MKD" + Chr$(10), 0)
Call vivprintf(vi,”MKPK NH”+chr$(10),0)
'MARKER AMPLITUDE
Call viVPrintf(vi, "MKA?" + Chr$(10), 0)
Call viVScanf(vi, "%t", result)
'MARKER FREQUENCY
Call viVPrintf(vi, "MKF?" + Chr$(10), 0)
Call viVScanf(vi, "%t", result)
Call viclose(vi)
Call viclose(defrm)
 

eelinker

Full Member level 5
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
269
Helped
16
Reputation
32
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Location
PERSIA
Activity points
2,786
Working for GPIB

You can search advantech and ni.com (labview) to find more topics
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top