Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How do you find the angle made by two isosceles triangles in a kite?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SparkyChem

Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
The problem is as follows:

usrIAvc.png

In the figure. Find x.

According to my book the answer is 15 degrees.

However I don't know how to solve for this problem. Since I am not good with constructions, perhaps someone here can help me?

The thing is that this must be solved using only synthetic euclidean geometry. No trigonometry.

There's more. It is not allowed to use similarity, but congruency and other simple relations in triangles can be used.

It is to be noted, can you please attach a drawing so I could understand the solution?.

With this requirements. Can it be solved?. I know it can be challenging but maybe someone of you guys may know. Please, help?.

The easy rule that comes to mind is all 3 angles of a triangle add up to 180 degrees. I believe you can make simultaneous equations from observations of several triangles.

* Total angle B = 180-3x

* Triangle ABD is isosceles (because x+2x=3x). Line AB=BD.
* Unknown angle ABD=180-6x

* Triangle ACD is isosceles. Line AD=DC.

* Unknown angle BDC =180-5x.

* Line CA goes through midpoint of BD (because x+x=total angle C).

I'm not certain but no doubt a few more observations and some deductive reasoning ought to lead to a provable solution.

@BradtheRad - that is exactly how I started to answer this question but then I saw that we are not to use trig. Therefore I'm not sure that this is the approach the OP is looking for.