Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help me to find the time constant of this circuit.

sel010913

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am a student trying to build the traffic light circuit using NE555 timer unit.
I want to find the time constant of the following circuit.
I just learned that Time constant is R*C other than that I have no Idea where to start.
Can I get some help?

Attachments

• CleanShot 2024-05-24 at 17.02.07@2x.png
    CleanShot 2024-05-24 at 17.02.07@2x.png
    32.2 KB · Views: 38
look at the history, then the datasheet at the bottom

Hi,

I agree ... reading the datsheet is essential and should give all information you need.

And that´s what I am worried about: What is the "information you need"?

RC time constant is defined by about 37% error to a step response. (I.e. after 63% of "movement")
But are you looking also for this "37%" related time constant?

So to get the most useful answers .. you need to tell us what / how you want the circuit to operate. Not only functionally, but also regarding timing.

Klaus

There's more than one time constant involved. The left 555 is acting as independent "master" oscillator, controlling the right 555 by switching it's power supply on and off. Both 555 are using a 50 % duty cycle configuration.

The oscillation period without considering output voltage drops, would be achieved with CMOS 555 and no output load, can be calculated as 1.4*RC = 2*RC*(ln 2/3 - ln 1/3), about 14 seconds for the master oscillator. Real period can be expected slightly larger.