Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

High speed amplifier - choice of topology

Status
Not open for further replies.

woki

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
what do you meant by speed of amplifier

Hello,

Fisrt of all, I will present myself: I come from technology process and I am a beginner with analog design (I am on training now).

I need to design a unity gain amplifier working at 40 Mhz (0.35 um technology with 3.3V). The main limitation is the slew rate and settlingtime (around 40 ns today), which I need to decrease near 10/15 ns, for a global power lower than 10 mW.
Moreover, I have a very heavy load to drive (near 35 pF ...)

First, I had to choose the topology of my amplifier. I oriented my choice to telescopic (for speed and minimum power) gain boosted cascode. I do not know at his time if I will need an output stage (speed ...), if I finally need, I think use a class AB source follower.

So my first question is: Is this topology choice the best for my application ? (I heard about class AB input and output stages ...)
Or do you have a better topology proposition ?

thanks in advance.

Re: High speed amplifier

Nobody have an idea ?
Little update: I am unable to drive 35 pF with a single telescopic cascode stage.
So I am currently designing a class AB output stage.
I am not sure that gain boosting will help improving the speed (slew rate, settling time) of my amplifier, what do you think ?

Thanks in advance.

Fred

hi, i support for power supply 3.3v, telescopic amplifier only the output swing will be low. so here is comparison of amplifiers
regards