Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

HFSS parallel plates capacitor simulation (need help)

Status
Not open for further replies.

ElectroLuke

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
rf parallel plate capacitor simulation

Hi everybody! i'm new to Hfss. I need to simulate a parallel plate capacitor with air as dielectric. I've designed it according to the hfss guide i've found on the web, but i would like to calculate the S and Y parameters for this structure (i think i'm gonna post the hfss file as soon as i'm home). How do i have to excite the capacitor and where? Is it possible to get a plot of the impedance value vs frequency? What boundaries do i have to use (i just have assigned the radiation boundary to the air, which sorround the whole structure)?
Looking forward to read your answers.
Thank you very much

Luca

cmc hfss

Hi electroluke,
I got your PM. I guess you are Italian. Me too. Why don't you send me your design? I can try to have a look at it.

I.

V

Helpful Answer Positive Rating
capacitor impedance plot simulation

Look in the post processor section and you will see s and y parameter outputs. You can also output impedance (vs. frequency if you include a sweep).

A radiation boundary is reasonable but I would keep it away from the cap elements.

You have a number of choices for the feed. When in doubt I try to make the feed look like the actual structure and use a wave port. The user's guide has a discussion towards the back that might be helpful.

hfss and mems switch

Here i post the Hfss file.