Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[HELP] Orc@d "PCB footprint" property

Status
Not open for further replies.

maestor

Full Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
resistor pcb footprints

Hi guys,

I am a newbie with Orc@d :roll: and I was wondering how you normally set the "PCB Footprint" property.

1) When a place a component in Capture from the libraries the PCB footprint is empty, is that right?

2) Is there a way to just add the component from the library with the PCB footprint set

3) Is the UPD file the fastest/best way to update the PCB footprint property?

4) Is there a list of PCB footprints' notation supported by Orc@d somewhere?

Thx all in advance

-maestor

property pcb footprint

With "PCB Footprint" property in Orcad you can set a footprint for a given component.Yes it`s right when you place a component this property is empty.You must to set it manually or automaticly when using a macros.You can view footprints in Orcad layout.For example i filled the PCB Footprint in my design for resistor with "SM/R_0805" witch means than i linked a R_0805 footprint (it`s a smt pad ) to a the element from the SM library.IN "Orcad layout" all footprint can be viewed when you click in tools menu "library manager" (this is for orcad 9.2).

capture pcb footprint property

Hi, Maestor.
You may add PCB footprit at any time You like before You produce a netlist.
So,
1 - Yes, and when You will try to produce a netlist Orc@d will not allow You to do that untill You fill up all of the PCB footprit properties (I'm not sure this is true for all of the netlist formats)