Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Gate driver circuit design for High-side and Low-side

aguntukbd

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am designing integrated DC-DC converter with multiple output. As I am new to Analog design, I am trying to figure out what type of circuit topology is to be used for high-side and low-side switches. High-side is a pmos and lowside is a nmos switch. I am using 22nm technology with typical Li-ion battery input voltage (2.5V to 4.1V range, nominal 3.7V).

I am using 22nm technology. Though for the high-side and low-side I will try with LDMOS. I am just not sure which topology to use from the PWM output to the LDMOS for driving the gate. What I mean, I am looking for gate driver circuit. Googling give me mostly to use gate driver ic to use which is not my intention. I want to start with common gate driver topology to start with. I figured my peak current required and switching frequency as well. I also sized preliminarily my LDMOS with current requirement. I need to drive the mosfet now from digital PWM. So I have to drive the MOSFET to design a circuit between the DPWM and the pmos /nmos as well and as well as nmos and other switches. Now for PMOS I selected the lowest voltage of Li-ion battery 2.5V and input pwm voltage would be 1.8V during its ON-duty cycle. Can anyone suggest what type of circuit should I use to drive the gates of the switches, specially pmos?

If you mean to integrate the power switches, and both operate between
the primary negative and positive rails, then you don't really have a