Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

From Layout into Design career: can it be done?

Status
Not open for further replies.

nrf

Junior Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello everybody,
I am an Engineer (Masters degree) and am doing IC Analog Layout since almost two years, by now.
After this experience I would like to have a deeper approach to the design of ICs, by not only implementing physically what designers implement on the sheet, but also thinking and concepting new ICs from the beginning. In one word, migrate into design.
My company till now cannot provide this to me, since there are few layouters around, as everybody will know.
Months ago I started to apply various jobs as designer, even abroad, but nothing happened, neither an interview. It seems to me that companies want designers being able to do layout but if someone, able in layout, applies as designer, everything falls, even though you apply as graduate/junior designer.
I think layout is a good beginning for someone who'd like to be introduced in the semiconductor field, but on the other hand is really blocking once you decided to migrate to design. And this is quite disappointing to me and my career.
Does anybody agree? Opinions/suggestions?
TNX!

Hi,

I agree with you, layout is a good beginning for someone who'd like to be introduced in the semiconductor field, specially in Analog IC design.

When you design analog IC you need to consider how to implement your design in silicon. So, an analog IC layout background is useful.

Good luck.