Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Frequency Divider from Counter module - verilog

Status
Not open for further replies.

natdon11

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi plz bare with me as i am a bit of a novice when it comes to verilog.
I have been tasked with producing a frequency divider implemented in verilog from a counter module that I have made earlier. The idea being the counter counts to a set value then resets, when that happens it toggles an output which is the divided signal.
My counter module: (this counts to its max number on the 24 bits then resets.)
Code:
module nBitBinaryCounter(
    input clk,
    input rst,
    output reg [23:0] out
);

always @ (posedge clk or negedge rst)
    begin
        if (rst == 1'b0)
            out <= 1'b0;

else if (out == 23'd16777216)
            out <= 1'b0;

else
            out <= out + 1'd1;

end
endmodule

as you can the output of the counter is a register.
The issue i am having is when trying to instantiate this module inside my frequency divider module:

Code:
module ClockDivider(
    input clk,
    output reg clk_out,
    output reg rst
);

wire [23:0] count;
    reg [23:0] count_reg;

nBitBinaryCounter count1(
        clk,
        rst,
        count
    );

always @(posedge clk or negedge rst)
    begin
        count_reg = count;
        if(count_reg == 24'd5000000) //line 22 error
        begin

clk_out <= !clk_out;
        end

else if (rst == 1'b0)
        begin
            clk_out <= 1'b0;
        end

end
endmodule