Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

FPGA to DDR connection

aminpix

Advanced Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
It may look very basic question for you, I do apology.
It is my first time designing a FPGA board. This board has a Kintex FPGA and four DDR4 rams.
To connect the FPGA to the DDR memory, any specific pins of the FPGA I should choose (for DQ and ADD) or I can connect to any GPIO pins?

Hi,

I guess you are not the first one connecting DDR RAM to KINTEX FPGA. Thus I expect the manufacturer provides informations as well as other internet sources.

Did you do a search at XILINX and in the internet?

Klaus

It may look very basic question for you, I do apology.
It is my first time designing a FPGA board. This board has a Kintex FPGA and four DDR4 rams.
To connect the FPGA to the DDR memory, any specific pins of the FPGA I should choose (for DQ and ADD) or I can connect to any GPIO pins?
Hello,

some connection lines for DDR memory are high-speed signals and them have to be designed (PCB) with length and impedance matching.

Best Regards

Hi,

I guess you are not the first one connecting DDR RAM to KINTEX FPGA. Thus I expect the manufacturer provides informations as well as other internet sources.

Did you do a search at XILINX and in the internet?

Klaus
I searched Xilinx documents for XCKU15P-2FFVE1517. There are many document about DDR and Xilinx; but still I can't find any document specifying DDR4 pin can be connected to what pin of the FPGA.
For example DDR4_DQ[] can be connected to XXXX type GPIO.