Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Floating point Unit in VHDL (Source Code)

Status
Not open for further replies.

leonqin

Full Member level 4
Joined
Nov 7, 2001
Messages
238
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
China
Activity points
1,763
pls tell me details,who make it?
 

manish12

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Nov 21, 2006
Messages
982
Helped
66
Reputation
132
Reaction score
33
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
6,114
is it double precision or single ?


can any one check it ????????
 

linkfox

Member level 2
Joined
Dec 18, 2007
Messages
51
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,495
manish12 said:
is it double precision or single ?


can any one check it ????????
seems to be in single, because the data inputs a, b are in 32 bits:

opa : IN std_logic_vector (31 downto 0)
 
  • Like
Reactions: MO ABU

    MO ABU

    points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

omara007

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jan 6, 2003
Messages
1,238
Helped
50
Reputation
102
Reaction score
16
Trophy points
1,318
Location
Cairo/Egypt
Activity points
9,747
manish12 said:
is it double precision or single ?


can any one check it ????????
what is the difference between double and single precision ?
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
47,211
Helped
13,984
Reputation
28,217
Reaction score
12,626
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
274,949
The core very much looks alike a VHDL port of Rudolf Usselmanns Open Floating Point Unit from opencores.org.
 

omara007

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jan 6, 2003
Messages
1,238
Helped
50
Reputation
102
Reaction score
16
Trophy points
1,318
Location
Cairo/Egypt
Activity points
9,747
can I use a double precision unit as 2 single precision units ?
 

dinesh.4126

Member level 5
Joined
Feb 27, 2008
Messages
83
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,841
USE ieee.std_logic_misc.ALL;
why this library is used ??
ya above library is use for floating point computation .
and in the fpu_arch.vhdl input bit vector of 32 bit is their.so no floating values is their pls let me know...
 

Paulo A. C. Lopes

Newbie level 5
Joined
Feb 2, 2012
Messages
8
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,283
Location
Portugal, Lisbon
Activity points
1,418
I have made this VHDL implementation of floating point addition, subtraction, multiplication, division and square root. You can look at it or use it if you wont. Its in the atachment.
 

Attachments

ynrlakshman

Newbie level 1
Joined
Feb 16, 2012
Messages
1
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,284
I have made this VHDL implementation of floating point addition, subtraction, multiplication, division and square root. You can look at it or use it if you wont. Its in the atachment.
Can u please send the code for Double Precision Floating Point Multiplier?
 

samuraign

Full Member level 2
Joined
May 18, 2006
Messages
127
Helped
12
Reputation
24
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,881
Is it available in Verilog. Could you upload the the verilog version. Looks like singe precisions, do you have double precision FPU.
How many cycles will each function takes to complete?
 

alex warne

Newbie level 1
Joined
Feb 20, 2012
Messages
1
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,285
hey i am new user to this great site. i am looking for a hardware model for the floating point square root algorithm in structural design style which will cover less flip flops and less clock cycles more efficiency?

thank you
 

shrikanthks

Newbie level 1
Joined
Feb 23, 2012
Messages
1
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,284
I have made this VHDL implementation of floating point addition, subtraction, multiplication, division and square root. You can look at it or use it if you wont. Its in the atachment.

Sir, i couldnt find any attachments regarding this. can u please mail me the attachment. My mail id shrikanthks09@gmail.com. Thanks in advance sir.
 

ablam

Newbie level 6
Joined
Nov 25, 2012
Messages
13
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,337
I have made this VHDL implementation of floating point addition, subtraction, multiplication, division and square root. You can look at it or use it if you wont. Its in the atachment.
Hai,
I am new to this forum.Can u send me ur code for VHDL implementation of floating point addition, subtraction, multiplication, division and square root to ablam_k@yahoo.com.It wil be a great help.Please do the needful.I wanted it to use for my project.Thanks in advance
 

TrickyDicky

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jun 7, 2010
Messages
7,018
Helped
2,057
Reputation
4,131
Reaction score
2,010
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
38,546
Altera and Xilinx both provide floating point cores for you to use.
 

robiwan

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Nov 14, 2012
Messages
21
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,408
Just out of curiosity for an FPGA-noob, what kind of performance is to be expected for such a beast ? I'm planning on doing a synth engine, and having access to floating-point math would make things a lot easier...
 

TrickyDicky

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jun 7, 2010
Messages
7,018
Helped
2,057
Reputation
4,131
Reaction score
2,010
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
38,546
What do you mean by "performance"?
You can increase the clock speed by adding pipelining, but this of course increases the latency.
Floating point cores also use a lot of resources.
 

robiwan

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Nov 14, 2012
Messages
21
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,408
With performance I mean mainly clocks/operation (or FLOPS). I plan on using Spartan 6 with the DSP48A1 blocks, I suppose maybe those can be utilized ?
 

TrickyDicky

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jun 7, 2010
Messages
7,018
Helped
2,057
Reputation
4,131
Reaction score
2,010
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
38,546
the DSP blocks are mainly geared towards fixed point. Im not sure how they get used in floating point cores, if at all. But still, a floating point operations takes several clocks to complete (from memory the standard setup for an altera FP divide is about 48 clocks latency). But the FLOPS figure is a bit meaningless. Because the blocks have a latency of 48 clocks, but you're still putting in a new value on every clock cycle. Its not like you put 1 value in an wait 48 clocks for a result. The pipelining will always alway 1 entry per clock.
 

robiwan

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Nov 14, 2012
Messages
21
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,408
Its not like you put 1 value in an wait 48 clocks for a result... The pipelining will always alway 1 entry per clock.
But that can only be fully utilized, I assume, with the rest of the design using the FP core being pipelined ? Anyways, thanks, I think I'll stick to fixed point atm :)
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top