Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Embedded software tips if you are having problems with new hardware

Status
Not open for further replies.

Enlightenment

Full Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I've been an embedded design engineer (SW & HW) for over 20 years. Here are some tips and thoughts about what you should do when trying to get embedded software to work, especially with new hardware. These are some of the basics, and doesn't cover every situation.

Other experienced engineers might want to leave some tips too.

#1 - Examine the schematic very closely to ensure that you understand what is connected to which pin on the microcontroller. I usually create an excel file (setting all cells to TEXT) that lists: every pin number, matching official pin name, pins purpose relating to hardware design, i/o direction or peripheral type that is going to be used on the pin. I create new columns for each respin of the board and then highlite the cells, in a different color, that are different between the boards.

#2 - Ensure critical hardware is working correctly. Verify every voltage, then every clock, then reset and interrupts, then other misc critical things that might prevent the microcontroller starting up (varies from chip to chip). Verify reset and interrupt lines are not held in the wrong state continously, like reset always being low.

#3 - Check all test points with a logic probe, scope, logic analyzer to ensure they look reasonable in the power-up state.

#4 - Ensure that debug tools, like JTAG, connect to the microcontroller and communicate properly.