Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Efficiency about boost mode regulator connected to a supercapacitor

Status
Not open for further replies.

victordion

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am doing the math modeling of the regulator's efficiency and hoping someone can help me.

What I am studying is a boost mode regulator by Linear. Its datasheet gives an efficiency chart as shown. I guess the efficiency should be a function of V_in, V_out, I_out, Namely, E = f(V_in, V_out, I_out).

1. Suppose we connect a constant voltage source providing V_in to the regulator's input, and connect a super capacitor (whose initial voltage is within regulator's rated output voltage [V_out_min, V_out_max]), so V_out grows as the charging process goes on. Then what will be I_out? Will this always be the regulator's maximum rated output current?

2. Suppose the constant voltage source providing V_in to the regulator's input is replaced by a PV cell which has its I-V characteristics I_in = g(V_in), and the super capacitor configuration is the same as above. How can we determine I_out over time?

What I am thinking is, we have the following relations hold:

I_in = g(V_in);
E = f(V_in, V_out, I_out);
E = (V_out*I_out)/(V_in*I_in)
V_out = Integral(I_out)dt/C + V_out_0;

There are 5 variables (E, V_in, V_out, I_in, I_out), and only 4 equations, I feel that if I_out is fixed, we can solve all variable.

LTC.PNG