Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Eagle pro: deleting a small portion of a PCB trace?

Status
Not open for further replies.

treez

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Sep 22, 2008
Messages
7,593
Helped
563
Reputation
1,129
Reaction score
539
Trophy points
1,393
Location
cambridge
Activity points
76,342
Hello,

I often wish to delete just a small portion of a pcb trace, but the "ripup" tool tends to delete the entire net..........how can i just delete one little piece of a trace?
 

mvs sarma

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Apr 23, 2006
Messages
789
Helped
121
Reputation
244
Reaction score
80
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Hyderabad, India.
Activity points
5,580
Generally Eagle trace if made a s a single stretch, it would be removed. Instead, if we do in bits and parts,
only that sub part can be removed.

Hope I am clear.
 
  • Like
Reactions: treez

    treez

    points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

treez

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Sep 22, 2008
Messages
7,593
Helped
563
Reputation
1,129
Reaction score
539
Trophy points
1,393
Location
cambridge
Activity points
76,342
Thanks, but i am finding that ebern if i do it part by part, the ripup tool still deletes the entire net.
 

mvs sarma

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Apr 23, 2006
Messages
789
Helped
121
Reputation
244
Reaction score
80
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Hyderabad, India.
Activity points
5,580
i am attaching a sample . i tried with eagle5.11.0. i first use connections ( not tracks).
later while making connections i track part ,stop then continue next section , so on.
later i select a specific section and rip. i am able to do it
a pdf is attached. you find discontinuous lines, they were earlier continuous but in steps.
 

Attachments


keith1200rs

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Messages
10,877
Helped
2,064
Reputation
4,128
Reaction score
1,597
Trophy points
1,403
Location
Yorkshire, UK
Activity points
57,276
It depends on whether it is a long straight track or not. If the track is a long straight one (even if you drew it a bit at a time - Eagle removes unnecessary nodes) it will be deleted as a whole. The way round that is to use SPLIT. With SPLIT you can create and extra node and then just delete back between two nodes.

Keith.

- - - Updated - - -

Just to add, if you are trying to delete segments in order to create space or go round obstacles, SPLIT may do what you need without deleting anything.

Keith
 

oyvdahl

Member level 5
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
86
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Oslo, Norway
Activity points
1,810
If you click the airwire, the entire trace is deleted. But if you click on a specific subpart, only that will be deleted.
 
  • Like
Reactions: treez

    treez

    points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

keith1200rs

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Messages
10,877
Helped
2,064
Reputation
4,128
Reaction score
1,597
Trophy points
1,403
Location
Yorkshire, UK
Activity points
57,276
Eagle has always had a good undo - at least in the last 12 years or so that I have been using it.

Keith
 
  • Like
Reactions: treez

    treez

    points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating
Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top