Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Does P&R tools accept this verilog netlist?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Memphis

Member level 3
Joined
Apr 13, 2002
Messages
58
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
479
flatten verilog netlist

Hi, I have the netlist of verilog which synthezied by synopsys dc. I found that there are some assign statement in the netlist(ex: assign a=b). As far as I know, the P&R tool cannot accept the netlist with assign statements insided. Do I miss something? :cry: How should I do in DC to eliminate assign statements when I write out the verilog netlist from DC? Thank s a lot for your kindly help.... :roll: :? :(
 

joe2moon

Full Member level 5
Joined
Apr 19, 2002
Messages
280
Helped
19
Reputation
38
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Location
MOON
Activity points
3,731
Yes !

It seemed that the P&R tool did not support "assign" syntax before.

But, today's P&R tool seems to be able to handle this !
 

cschen

Newbie level 4
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
6
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
Taiwan
Activity points
74
assign statements are not an issue for flat designs
but could cause back annotation issues for hierarchical verilog out.
 

linuxluo

Full Member level 6
Joined
Jul 26, 2002
Messages
331
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,514
hi,
u can set verilogout_no_tri true before synthesis.
set_fix_multiple_port_nets -feedthroughs
 

Memphis

Member level 3
Joined
Apr 13, 2002
Messages
58
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
479
I have asked the company of design service, and their answer is none for accepting netlist with assign statement included. Thank a lot for linuxluo and all, I will try options of DC to see if works....:)
 

Nobody

Full Member level 3
Joined
Oct 4, 2001
Messages
165
Helped
9
Reputation
16
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Formosa
Activity points
1,593
Here is the script i often use , dont forget to set the multple fix through the whole hierachically .

#
# Translation of script: fix_assign.scr
#

set design_list [find design *]
foreach_in_collection design $design_list {
current_design $design
set_fix_multiple_port_nets -all -buffer_constants
}
 

Memphis

Member level 3
Joined
Apr 13, 2002
Messages
58
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
479
I have tried the options provided by linuxluo. Some assign statements disappeared by adding buffers. But there are assign statements which assign some signals to logic one or logic zero still exist. Can someone tell me how to erase the remaining assign statements in the netlist? thanks a lot for your kindly help... :cry: :( :cry:
 

zyphor

Full Member level 1
Joined
Nov 22, 2003
Messages
97
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
816
you can set all module donot touch and then compile, all the assign will be deleted.
 

keertiprasad1

Newbie level 4
Joined
Sep 29, 2010
Messages
5
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,311
Hi .. I had a pblm where in i had assign statements even if i tried the above options. I tried the below Approach and able to remove assign statements. So just give a try.

read_verilog fix_mult.v
compile
write -f ddc -hier -out fix_mult.ddc
remove_design *
read_ddc fix_mult.ddc
link
set_fix_multiple_port_nets -all -buffer_constants [get_designs *]
compile
change_names -rules verilog -verbose -hier
write_file -f verilog -hierarchy -output fix_mult.vn
 

chipmonkey

Member level 2
Joined
Oct 20, 2010
Messages
48
Helped
18
Reputation
36
Reaction score
18
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Bangalore
Activity points
1,543
Maybe DC is not removing the assign statements because you have set dont touch on some modules or the clock/reset networks. in that case you will have to replace the assign statements manually/using scripts
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top