Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Design Compiler Topological Flow

Status
Not open for further replies.

ivlsi

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Feb 17, 2012
Messages
879
Helped
17
Reputation
32
Reaction score
16
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
6,806
HI ALL,

Could someone share his/her knowledge on Design Compiler Topological ?

What's the difference with a regular Design Compiler flow?

THANK YOU!
 

rca

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
1,485
Helped
354
Reputation
708
Reaction score
326
Trophy points
1,363
Location
Marin
Activity points
8,522
The basic idea is the synthesis tool will know the placement of macro, pads, and could estimated more precisely the wire length and sizing the cells appropriately.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ivlsi

    ivlsi

    points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

ivlsi

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Feb 17, 2012
Messages
879
Helped
17
Reputation
32
Reaction score
16
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
6,806
Will the info (cells placement) then be passed to PNR tools? What format?

As for DC-T, should floorplaning be performed in prior to Logic Synthesis? What format should it be passed to DC-T?

How floorplaning might be performed in prior to Logic Synthesis if the cells area is still unknown?

Wld floorplaning take 20% for future routing?

Thank you!
 

rca

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
1,485
Helped
354
Reputation
708
Reaction score
326
Trophy points
1,363
Location
Marin
Activity points
8,522
Def file could be used
 
  • Like
Reactions: ivlsi

    ivlsi

    points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

ivlsi

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Feb 17, 2012
Messages
879
Helped
17
Reputation
32
Reaction score
16
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
6,806
okay, thank you... But I still have some questions not answered... Here they are:

As for the DC-T, should floorplaning be performed in prior to Logic Synthesis?

How floorplaning might be performed in prior to Logic Synthesis if the cells area is still unknown?
Thanks for your comments in advance!

- - - Updated - - -

As for the DEF, it's Cadence's format. Synopsys usually uses MilkyWay... Am I wrong?
 

rca

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
1,485
Helped
354
Reputation
708
Reaction score
326
Trophy points
1,363
Location
Marin
Activity points
8,522
so first synthesis to have the overall area
made your floorplan
then rerun more precise synthesis with the floorplan information.,
you're right¨!
 

ivlsi

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Feb 17, 2012
Messages
879
Helped
17
Reputation
32
Reaction score
16
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
6,806
ok, for the first run before the floorplaning, should any WLM be used? Should it be Zero-WLM? Any timing violations might be accepted?
 

rca

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
1,485
Helped
354
Reputation
708
Reaction score
326
Trophy points
1,363
Location
Marin
Activity points
8,522
normally, in topolofical view, it will estimate a "real" wire length, based on the topology, so the WLM is not used.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ivlsi

    ivlsi

    points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

ivlsi

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Feb 17, 2012
Messages
879
Helped
17
Reputation
32
Reaction score
16
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
6,806
normally, in topolofical view, it will estimate a "real" wire length, based on the topology, so the WLM is not used.
What is "topolofical view"? As you wrote, firstly we should run a "dirty" Logic Synthesis for just having an idea about the gates count and only then pass the Netlist to Floorplaning. Correct? So, for the first "dirty" synthesis the DC-T doesn't have any floorplaning info, correct? Can DC-T constrain gates count according to floorplaning info?

- - - Updated - - -

What Output files from DC-T?
My guess is:
1) Netlist (*.v, *.db)
2) Timing constraints (*.sdc)
3) DEF(?) Milkyway(?) files

Please help
 

rca

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
1,485
Helped
354
Reputation
708
Reaction score
326
Trophy points
1,363
Location
Marin
Activity points
8,522
well during the first synthesis is to have a far-away std-cell area estimation, and you don't really care of this first area/timing.

As output of the topology flow, you should have the cell placement through DEF or directly the milkyway database.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ivlsi

    ivlsi

    points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

sharath666

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Apr 4, 2011
Messages
552
Helped
126
Reputation
252
Reaction score
124
Trophy points
1,323
Location
India
Activity points
3,830
First of all, it is not tolpological flow;it is topographical flow.
Flow:
1.Run DC using a basic WLM and correct constraints to get a netlist.
2.Use this netlist to get a DEF.
3.Run DC-T again using this def, removing the WLM and with the same constraints.This run of DC-T will require Milkyway libraries as well apart from normal .db's.
4.This run will also realise a netlistddc & sdc.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ivlsi

    ivlsi

    points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

ivlsi

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Feb 17, 2012
Messages
879
Helped
17
Reputation
32
Reaction score
16
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
6,806
What do include the Milkyway libraries?
 
Last edited:

sharath666

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Apr 4, 2011
Messages
552
Helped
126
Reputation
252
Reaction score
124
Trophy points
1,323
Location
India
Activity points
3,830
R u asking why do we include the milkyway libraries? That is because the DEF file uses cells from that library...
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top