Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

DC/PT2002 on Linux / VMware

Status
Not open for further replies.

DeepIC

Member level 3
Joined
Oct 13, 2001
Messages
56
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
475
Linux / VMware

Hi,

How about run DC/PT2002 on VMware3.1 ? Works well or not?
 

viahole

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Dec 31, 1999
Messages
30
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
168
I have not used sub. on vmware, but alot of others progz incl protel99 and orcad and vmware works very nice on all progz.
 

liux100

Member level 1
Joined
Jul 31, 2002
Messages
37
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
363
vmware is fine

vmware is fine, it is a real computer for the app software.
 

ASICbuilder

Newbie level 1
Joined
Aug 1, 2002
Messages
1
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
10
vmware works fine for all Windows apps.
However, I don' recommend it for computationally intensive stuff like
DC, because it's much slower than a real machine (vmware emulates
a PC).
 

quacklamack

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Dec 7, 2001
Messages
28
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
220
Actually, it does *not* emulate a PC, but provides a sand box where a fresh operating system wikll run. Bochs emulates a PC.

I find VMWare to be the answer to my dreams (not all of them), and I will tell you, it runs well! I came up scratching my windows partition, as it lies on a Linux file. All the documents are well hidden in a linux FS with the inbuilt samba.

Is there anything better than this?

quack
 

pardal

Member level 5
Joined
Dec 29, 2001
Messages
81
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
587
ASICbuilder said:
However, I don' recommend it for computationally intensive stuff like
DC, because it's much slower than a real machine (vmware emulates
a PC).
Well, that is not what my experience says (windows is my host machine
and linux the guest). In fact, oddly at it might seams, linux apps tend to run
a bit faster (not much) under vmware than under a native linux.
 

DeepIC

Member level 3
Joined
Oct 13, 2001
Messages
56
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
475
hi,all,

i like to know if Internet keeps connecting on Win2000 while
switching to Linux?
 

quacklamack

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Dec 7, 2001
Messages
28
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
220
It bloody well should, since the two OS run concurrently. if you want to have full control on the
Winblows Internet connections, use host only network and configure your Linux as a firewall.

quack
 

Kermit76

Member level 2
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
47
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
251
Does anyone have a cr@ck/serial number for vmware 3.2 windows version? Can someone please provide a link or PM me.

Many Thanks
 

dibl01

Member level 1
Joined
Jul 11, 2002
Messages
40
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
365
Kermit76 said:
Does anyone have a cr@ck/serial number for vmware 3.2 windows version? Can someone please provide a link or PM me.

Many Thanks

check my post in public download section for vmware 3.2 keygen from DAMN
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top