Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

DC current calculation and battery capacity analysis

Status
Not open for further replies.

pragash

Advanced Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
dear all,
We are going to start designing mobile phone which has many technologies in it such as 3G, Bluetooth, WiFi, accelerometer and etc. i need to calculate current drawn by each technology so I can determine minimum battery capacity I need for battery life I need. I have never done such calculation before. Any good reference from you guys will be much appreciated.

BR
pragash

I think you don't have to compare such power calculations for different processes: for your technologies simply use the smallest available process size, where you can get the IP blocks which you can't invent and design yourself. This concerns digital as well as analog solutions (where the latter ones often are now realized in digital logic). If available, use the Low Power option.

Bear in mind that your competition meanwhile goes to or even already uses process sizes < 20nm !

hi erikl,
i think you got me wrong. i dont want compare the power calculation but i just want to do battery power/density calculation for my product based on technology/ICs/component used in the product. take note that im doing embedded design only and not IC design.

- - - Updated - - -

i will appreciate if you have any "minimum required battery power calculation" for embedded designs. any book or link also will help..

Sorry, Pragash, for my misunderstanding! Concerning your requirements for embedded designs I can't help you, unfortunately.