Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

USB battery charger with programmable current

Sioux12

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello!

I hope this topic fits to this Forum (otherwise, any suggestion about the right place to post it would be welcome).

I am a newbie and I would like to design (and possibly realize) a battery charger with a programmable current: ideally, the desired current should be selected from a range of discrete values. I wonder if this can be accomplished (for example) through the GPIO output pin(s) of a development board, wired to control the transistor(s) actually providing the current to the battery.

Some constraints:
- I would like to use USB as power line;
- consequently, the range of currents I would like to cover is from 0 A to about 3 or 4 A; the voltage should be fixed at 5 V;
- for now, my target battery is the one of a mobile phone, but I would ideally like to build a device which is able to charge any battery which can be charged through USB.

My knowledge about batteries and chargers is very poor. After some research, I found out that there are specific chargers for specific types of batteries. There are also Integrated Circuits providing a range of different currents to the batteries, but I've never found a range so wide as I ideally would like to have. Is there something that would fit to this case?