Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

[SOLVED] Curved microstrip with S21 above 0dB (Momentum)

Status
Not open for further replies.

mycw

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Sep 29, 2010
Messages
30
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,500
Hello everyone,

I'm designing a curved microstrip for broadband TIA (40GHz+), but I found from momentum the S21 could reach above 0dB with my microstrip line only (gain on pure passive circuit?!). I checked the substrate setting, RF mode is off, is there anything else that I can verify? The layout and S21 are attached. THANKS A LOT!!!!


Mario Young
 

vcoltech

Member level 3
Joined
Aug 27, 2010
Messages
58
Helped
17
Reputation
34
Reaction score
16
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Vietnam UET
Activity points
1,585
HI
how many port do you have in your design ?
have u ever listened " ISOLATION " ?
ok. I think u should reseach "ISOLATION". it's very meaningful. if you have difficult about reseach "isolation", PM FOR ME. I'll talk for you. ok
 
  • Like
Reactions: mycw

    mycw

    points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

mycw

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Sep 29, 2010
Messages
30
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,500
Hi vcoltech,

Thanks for your suggestion, I didn't pay attention about isolation, will try to find out more about it.

In this simulation file, there are only two ports, one in and one out. But the actual circuit it will be a differential pair, I was running on single-ended line because I was trying to find the shape with lowest loss.


Mario Young
 

tony_lth

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jul 28, 2010
Messages
2,018
Helped
376
Reputation
754
Reaction score
371
Trophy points
1,363
Location
Beijing
Activity points
11,986
What is the yellow line? Is it a waveguide or box?
 

mycw

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Sep 29, 2010
Messages
30
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,500
Hi tony_lth,

The yellow lines are construction lines for positioning, and it is only microstrip lines.
 

V

volker_muehlhaus

Guest
I would have a look at port calibration.

Not sure about Momentum, but in Sonnet non-passive data usually means that something is
wrong with the port calibration (no proper ground return, overmoded substrate etc.)

What is your substrate?
Where is your ground return for the current?
 

BigBoss

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Nov 17, 2001
Messages
4,944
Helped
1,498
Reputation
2,994
Reaction score
1,339
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Turkey
Activity points
29,816
P1 is not touching to the line..
 

mycw

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Sep 29, 2010
Messages
30
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,500
Thanks everyone, I solved the problem by adding its counterpart, actually it is a differential pair, I thought I can simulate them separately. About P1 touching the line, in fact there is a bonding wire between P1 and the starting point of the transmission line, sorry it is not clear on the graph attached. Thanks again!
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top