Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

CRT monitor Sony GDM FW900 no picture/OSD used to power on despite the long-term problem

mathewgood

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello, I have this old CRT Sony F900 monitor, and I have been using him every day for the past 20 years. All I am asking, if possible, for a tip, on where I should start my investigation, my knowledge about the signal process in CRT is marginal.

The most recent measurements around IC620 MCZ3001D SW REG CONTROL are on the very bottom.

The link to the service manual is here https://drive.google.com/file/d/1D-sZZZDAH7SM4-e3q_wcBfSZUcg4pnRc and in the attachment.

I was trying to reach many places before I decided to write to you. At this point, I understood, from the people and services I have tried to contact no one would even like to talk about CRT monitors.

I wish to know how to think and locate a failing component. I will put all my efforts to learn and contribute. I can make measurements in any state, check anything you would suggest, and record videos from the measurements. If you would like to go with me on this journey I would be thrilled. I have some knowledge mainly from your electronic repair guide blog, crt youtube repairs, and forums post, I just have a big mess in my head.

How it started
  1. It started with a bright and greenish picture upon starting a cold monitor.
  2. About 2 years ago, only on the cold boot, the screen started to occasionally flash with a green picture with retrace lines.