Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Connecting GSM C55 to PIC question

Status
Not open for further replies.

biggbob

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Messages
16
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
81
schema siemens c55

Hello,

I plan to drive a C55 siemens GSM phone with a pic. The phone is under 3,6 volt, is it necessary to respect this voltage when communicating in RS232 and make run the pic in less than 4 volts ?

If anyone have experience about this, thanks to help.

Regards

Bob
 

pacalaconcurso

Newbie level 2
Joined
Apr 21, 2003
Messages
2
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
18
I´m using a max232 at 4,3V as interface, but the pic is running at 5V.

really use 2 max232, 1 in the motherboard (also used for the bootloader) and the other as the interface for the siemens so the signal pass trought the 2 IC´s to the phone

the best solution is to use the 3.3 version of max232.
 

biggbob

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Messages
16
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
81
C55 to pic

Thanks for the tips. I've found how to do with a 232 and it works well now.
Actually I'm experimenting communications with the phone and a Pic 16F873 and a basic compiler.
All is working as I want but I found difficulties to build SMS in basic because the C55 doesn't work in text mode for SMS but only in PDU mode wich is quite more difficult.
Have you try this ?
Do you think that if communication works with a C55 it does work with others cellular modem equiped ?

Regards

Bob
 

biggbob

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Messages
16
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
81
C55 to pic

Hi C-Man,
Thanks very much for your help. That's exactly what I'm looking for !

Great !

Best regards

Bob :lol:
 

ruggine

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Nov 29, 2002
Messages
27
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
117
where I can find the instructions to build a cable for the C55
thanks
 

artem

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
May 22, 2003
Messages
1,350
Helped
126
Reputation
252
Reaction score
32
Trophy points
1,328
Location
Turkey
Activity points
13,461
If you have pin description for C55 (and I uppose it i not big problem to find serch siemens site or ask their support team ) you can use this primitive schema .
 

kk_ram2001

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Feb 21, 2004
Messages
29
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
220
hi guys,

im using nokia 3310 for the same application. i dont want to use the
microcontroller in between but want to retreive the received messages directly to the VB program which is running in a PC. i struct up with the embedding the AT commads in the VB program and also retrieving the entire received messages in the VB application itself.

plz somebody help me in the regard

thanxs in advance
ram
 

fireplus

Full Member level 3
Joined
Oct 31, 2003
Messages
182
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,633
hi,
let me tell you that nokia 3310 didn't support the at commands (it use a protocol called (f-bus)
here you will find a lot of inf about that :
http://www.embedtronics.com/nokia/fbus.html#part1
if you want to use at commands with nokia phones using pc only (not embedded)try to use nokia data suite

hope that help you

Fire in the Wire :sm2:
 

artem

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
May 22, 2003
Messages
1,350
Helped
126
Reputation
252
Reaction score
32
Trophy points
1,328
Location
Turkey
Activity points
13,461
kk_ram2001 said:
hi guys,

im using nokia 3310 for the same application. i dont want to use the
............
ram
Search the sourceforge.net there are ready to use library and soft for SMS sending adapted for different phone types and different alphabet . If I am not wrong project was written in C++ , but may be new projects are added to support VB as well .
 

ego

Member level 1
Joined
Sep 26, 2002
Messages
34
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
197
just use 74ls07 open collector buffer to convert 5V TTL level to MOS(3V) level.
 

irfansyah

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Dec 29, 2004
Messages
106
Helped
9
Reputation
18
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Location
New South Wales
Activity points
1,128
1. Can the phone (e.g. C55) accept 5 volts data from a micro? (e.g. normal AT89S52)
2. Can the micro accept 3 volts data from the phone?

I just want some confirmation here ...
 

C-Man

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jul 19, 2001
Messages
1,059
Helped
90
Reputation
180
Reaction score
17
Trophy points
1,318
Activity points
10,191
irfansyah said:
1. Can the phone (e.g. C55) accept 5 volts data from a micro? (e.g. normal AT89S52)
2. Can the micro accept 3 volts data from the phone?

I just want some confirmation here ...
1) you can insert resistors to the lines driving the phone I was succesful using 10K but this is not an "elegant" solution.

2) in most applications the answer is yes but this is also not an "elegant" solution.

It is a good idea to use level converters here.

best regards
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top