Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

C problem callback function

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sadegh.j

Advanced Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi

I am not a programmer, electronic engineer in fact. But I am programming a chip and need callback functions.

Apparently, in a C code, a callback function is used which calls another function in another C code, without including it as a header file. is it possible?

Thanks

Yes, because callback function is passed as "pointer to function" to the caller funciton which will call the callback function. So while writing the caller function, we don't need header file for callback function. Though in caller function, you have to take care of calling callback function with right number/type of arguments.

very interesting, could you please explain more? or give me a reference to read from.

Thanks

Callback function needs a function prototype as any regular function call. As a basic difference, there is no static function address rather than a function pointer. Fucntion pointers are widely used in programming, e. g. with C++ classes.

The particulary thing will callback functions, to my opinion, is the opposite call direction implied here. You e. g. call a windows enumeration function and provide a callback function within your code segment, that is called back from operation system to deliver the data. The mechanism implies, that the function prototype is clearly defined, normally it is included in a header file shipped with the compiler.

FvM said: