Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Basic questions about polarity and resistances

Status
Not open for further replies.

iwkse

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi, I'm studying electronics since little time, so excuse me if my questions are very basic but I guess you can help me to clarify dubts.

1. If I use a voltmeter and I measure a 4.5V battery, and I connect the COM cable to positive and Vohm cable to negative I get a negative number on the display. Is this normal? So it means there are n amount of electrons (negative sign) that still have to travel to the opposite side?

2. I was reading that resistance reduce the voltage..here I had a doubt because I though it reduces the current. Could you clarify?

Thanks!

Last edited:

1. If I use a voltmeter and I measure a 4.5V battery, and I connect the COM cable to positive and Vohm cable to negative I get a negative number on the display. Is this normal?
It is normal and is showing the polarity of the contacts on the battery. Do not think about what the electrons are doing.

2. I was reading that resistance reduce the voltage..here I had a doubt because I thought it reduces the current. Could you clarify?