Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

ARM AHB/APB question

Status
Not open for further replies.

vcnvcc

Full Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I have question on AHB Bus –

Question – 1 (related to issue faced in closing timing.)
Basically I am new to ARM & its Bus protocol, I have just started to work on it, so have lot of questions.

I am referring to this diagram e.g . **broken link removed**

Can I say that arbiter + muxes + decode selection – all these “overall matrix” is a big combinational block?
If yes, lets say big designs where we have e.g. 6 masters and 15 slaves, in that case “overall matrix” will be very big and complex, now here how do I close timing? Provided I can go back and change architecture/RTL…..Because overall matrix will be big combo circuit…

Question 2- (related to evlolution of APB to AHB to layered AHB??(don’t know layered/multi layered concept) to AXI )

I have checked and somewhat understood AHB – APB systems, but what is layered. I read about multi layer AHB/AXI – so what is that, how this thing came into picture? Why ARM proposed multilayer concept?

Appreciate if you share your insights and experience as well.

Thanks!!

I have question on AHB Bus –

Question – 1 (related to issue faced in closing timing.)
Basically I am new to ARM & its Bus protocol, I have just started to work on it, so have lot of questions.

I am referring to this diagram e.g . **broken link removed**

Can I say that arbiter + muxes + decode selection – all these “overall matrix” is a big combinational block?