Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

ADS Diode Simulation

Status
Not open for further replies.

anoster

Newbie level 3
Joined
Nov 17, 2012
Messages
4
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,311
Hi,

A really simple question. I am new to ADS and trying to simulate a half rectifier as the attached pics show.
Why is the diode also on Screen Shot 2013-01-29 at 10.15.19 AM.pngScreen Shot 2013-01-29 at 10.15.38 AM.pngwhen it is reversely biased?
If I put a capacitor parallel to the load, everything works well.

Thanks,
EOM
 

BigBoss

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Nov 17, 2001
Messages
4,842
Helped
1,467
Reputation
2,932
Reaction score
1,314
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Turkey
Activity points
29,208
The load is too much that's why diode doesn't work becuse of very low AC current.Decrease load as for instance 100 Ohm, you'll see
 

anoster

Newbie level 3
Joined
Nov 17, 2012
Messages
4
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,311
Thanks for ur response, but not working either. That was what I suspected at first.
Screen Shot 2013-01-29 at 2.12.57 PM.png

Best,
EOM
 

anoster

Newbie level 3
Joined
Nov 17, 2012
Messages
4
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,311
Hi,

Could anyone actually try this and upload the result?
It doesn't matter what diode module used. It will always be on when reversely biased.

Thanks,
EOM
 

BradtheRad

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 1, 2011
Messages
13,656
Helped
2,702
Reputation
5,400
Reaction score
2,620
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Activity points
101,970
I tried a similar schematic in a different simulator (the one at falstad.com/circuit).

For me it works as expected.

Screenshot:



The diode is a generic ideal diode. Infinite reverse breakdown V.

I cannot think of a reason for your diode to conduct at all parts of the cycle.
 

tony_lth

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jul 28, 2010
Messages
2,004
Helped
375
Reputation
752
Reaction score
367
Trophy points
1,363
Location
Beijing
Activity points
11,869
You source power is only 0dBm, too little.
you can increase it to +30 or +40dBm.
 

KRISz

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Dec 10, 2008
Messages
27
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,395
A anode of the diode connected the ground of the circuit, you get the half waveform.
 

arathivenu

Newbie level 3
Joined
Feb 18, 2013
Messages
4
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,306
Hi, can someone please help me with this.

I am designing a CRLH unit cell with an interdigital capacitor and short circuited stub (with via to ground) in ADS momentum. I want to use this single unit cell as a matching part for my rectifier circuit ( as of now i am using a diode for simplification). Can someone help me in suggesting a way to find the impedance of the unit cell using ADS, so that i can obtain a match with diode impedance. The diode impedance has been already calculated using a term component and then plotting S11 on smith chart.
I would also like to know how can i change the impedance by varying the length, width if interdigital fingers or short circuited stub.
 

rf1008

Full Member level 2
Joined
Mar 30, 2012
Messages
129
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,219
Pls. insert a DC-block Cap. between the term and Diode.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top