Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

about ISE install need you help !

Status
Not open for further replies.

Matrix_YL

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Aug 19, 2005
Messages
108
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,272
environment variables ise 7.1i

Hi all


Anyone knew whether different versions of ISE (for example 8.1 and 7.1 )can be installed in same windows XP environment?
If they can ,whether they able to share same devices library of Xilinx ? How did I do that ?
 

angelote

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Apr 28, 2005
Messages
108
Helped
12
Reputation
24
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Spain
Activity points
2,099
how to install xilinx ise 7.1i

I think that it can't be done. Both, 7.1 and 8.1, use the same global environment variable XILINX, which points to the installation path.
 

Matrix_YL

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Aug 19, 2005
Messages
108
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,272
unable to change to directory path unisims_ver.

Dear angelote

thanks for you reply ! both softwares work fine in my WinXp !
 

echo47

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Apr 7, 2002
Messages
3,933
Helped
638
Reputation
1,274
Reaction score
88
Trophy points
1,328
Location
USA
Activity points
33,176
unable to change to directory path unisims_ver.

Yes, I have ISE 4.2i, 6.3i, 7.1i, and 8.1i all installed. I simply change that XILINX environment variable when I want to switch between them.

Don't try to share anything between versions. Do full installations into separate folders.

I don't use Project Navigator. I build my projects using a command line makefile. That makes it really easy to switch a project between ISE versions.

If you use ModelSim, you need to compile separate simulation libraries for each ISE version. For convenience, I modified modelsim.ini and replaced lines such as this:
UNISIMS_VER = C:\Xilinx81\SimLibs\unisims_ver
with this:
UNISIMS_VER = $XILINX\SimLibs\unisims_ver
 

Matrix_YL

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Aug 19, 2005
Messages
108
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,272
switch between version xilinx ise

Hi echo47


I set XILINX environment variable like this (d:\Xilinx for 7.1)
Code:
XILINX   d:\Xilinx8.1i;d:\Xilinx;
whether this environment set will make any conflict ?

And about ModelSim simulation libraries compile, I use such ways
(Just compile ISE7.1 simulation libraries of all device )
1.modified modelsim.ini (check off readonly )
2.cd Xilinx \bin \nt ( in dos mode )
3.run compxlib -s mti_se -f all -l all -o d:\EDA\modeltech_6.1d \xilinx_libs
so the modelsim.ini show these after compxlib
Code:
UNISIMS_VER = d:\modeltech_6.1d\xilinx_lib\unisims_ver
SIMPRIMS_VER = d:\modeltech_6.1d\xilinx_lib\simprims_ver
XILINXCORELIB_VER = d:\modeltech_6.1d\xilinx_lib\XilinxCoreLib_ver
UNI9000_VER = d:\modeltech_6.1d\xilinx_lib\uni9000_ver
AIM_VER = d:\modeltech_6.1d\xilinx_lib\abel_ver\aim_ver
CPLD_VER = d:\modeltech_6.1d\xilinx_lib\cpld_ver
UNISIM = d:\modeltech_6.1d\xilinx_lib\unisim
SIMPRIM = d:\modeltech_6.1d\xilinx_lib\simprim
XILINXCORELIB = d:\modeltech_6.1d\xilinx_lib\XilinxCoreLib
AIM = d:\modeltech_6.1d\xilinx_lib\abel\aim
PLS = d:\modeltech_6.1d\xilinx_lib\abel\pls
CPLD = d:\modeltech_6.1d\xilinx_lib\cpld
I think it just need to compile simulation libraries one times for all versions of ISE because all device of different versions have same simulation model and parameters ! Am I right?
 

echo47

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Apr 7, 2002
Messages
3,933
Helped
638
Reputation
1,274
Reaction score
88
Trophy points
1,328
Location
USA
Activity points
33,176
xilinx switch versions variables

I would expect those sharing techniques to cause havoc, but I have never tried them.

I keep separate simulation libraries because we need to update them after each IP update, and I believe that a new version of ISE qualifies as an IP update. More info:
**broken link removed**

More Xilinx suggestions:
**broken link removed**
**broken link removed**
**broken link removed**
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top