Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

A question about synthesis

Status
Not open for further replies.

horzonbluz

Full Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
set_case_analysis

Hi, friends.
I'm a digital integrated Circuit designer.I have a question about timing in synthesis.
I synthesis a Digital circuit and find a problem in my circuits.
I have not treated the test signals as ideal signal, in the other words treat the TEST_SE and TEST_MODE nets as ideal net, and have infinite driving ability in the past. Now the P&R engineers want me to handle them as ideal nets as clock or reset signals. But there are some paths in my design have timing violation when i set new contraints on the test signals. These timing violation can't be fixed.
Why this happen? I set new contraints on test signals and these contraints just prevent inserting buffers in the TEST_SE and TEST_MODE nets. Why this can cause timing violations.

set_dont_touch_network

do you recompile it? from compilation and then dft compilation

do you use both set_dont_touch_network
and set_ideal_network?

show us what did you do and your constraints

set_case_analysis synopsys

horzonbluz said:
I set new contraints on test signals and these contraints just prevent inserting buffers in the TEST_SE and TEST_MODE nets. Why this can cause timing violations.

Hi,horzonbluz

Could you tell us your new contraints on the Test pins? and What is your tools , DC, BG or others?

Synopsys apply the TetraMAX for DFT, and the BG support the DFT direct, and need to modify the script extensive.

set_case_analysis constant high