Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

555 mono (restriction on Resistance value)

Status
Not open for further replies.

vinodquilon

Full Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Find the attachment (https://www.scribd.com/doc/27157788) . The purpose of the circuit is to turn on reed relay for 60sec, when
first ring_signal occurs. For that I have to use C= 100 uF & R= 560 K. But somewhere I have
read, in the design of 555 mono take R= 10 K to limit current through the internal transistor
to 1 mA.
Is it correct ? Can I use 560 K ?

It is my first time experience with Eagle to draw schematic. If someone notice any drawing faults
in my schematic, pls inform me to improve my drawing skill with Eagle.....

shouldn't be a problem,
I recall long time ago experimenting with long term delay, ie > 1hr and using > 1MOhm+ and 1000uF for C.
repeatable accuracy is not so great the longer the delay is.

You might prefer to do this with the CMOS version of 555, ie 7555.
Its an improved product.

the 555 must be the most ubitious IC of all time:D

xaccto said:
shouldn't be a problem,
I recall long time ago experimenting with long term delay, ie > 1hr and using > 1MOhm+ and 1000uF for C.
repeatable accuracy is not so great the longer the delay is.

You might prefer to do this with the CMOS version of 555, ie 7555.
Its an improved product.

the 555 must be the most ubitious IC of all time:D

Thanks xaccto,
It is first time I heard about 7555. Thanks a lot.....

Hi,