Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Design capturing range 350Hz-550Hz by using Hef4046b PLL

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wicky21

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I'm currently doing a project by using the HEF4046B pll. i'm new to this chip

My requirement is to lock the PLL around 350Hz-550Hz. Simply my capturing range should be between 350Hz-550Hz. Since i'm new to this pll somebody help me to select R2,R1 and C1 values. Also to design low pass filter.
I'm using a Adafruit AGC Electret Microphone Amplifier - MAX9814 to pick signals.

below links shows out the datasheet of the pll

https://assets.nexperia.com/documents/data-sheet/HEF4046B.pdf

I gone through with the data sheet and selected values. somebody please tell me whether selected values are correct.
Vdd = 5V
Fmin = 350Hz , Fmax = 550Hz
C1 = 30nF
R2 = 100Kohm
R1 = 200Kohm

I thought to use phase comparator 2. I'm bit confusing how to select low pass filter values(R3, C2). And what is the purpose of Rsf resistor?

Hi,

Somewhere you need a clock divider for the PLL clock. What's it's value? Let's call it "M".

This determins VCO frequency range:
* minimum: 350Hz x M
* maximum: 550Hz x M

Then choose a resistor network in a way that the PD output voltage range generates this VCO frequency range...plus some headroom.

Klaus

Google for 4046 application notes or tutorials, find e.g. https://www.ti.com/lit/an/scha003b/scha003b.pdf

Rfs is the load resistance of the source follower buffer output, only required if you need a buffered VCO control voltage, e.g. for frequency measurement purposes.