Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

SMA connector regarding PCB design & layout

Status
Not open for further replies.

samiran_dam

Full Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Dear All,

I am new to PCB design and layout. Currently I designing the PCB for testing my design prototype. For this purpose, I need to place a thru-hole SMA connector.

However, I dont know -

1. Which part to use in the Capture schematic for the SMA connector.
2. Which footprint to be used.​

F4683306-01.jpg

Please help.

Thanks
Samiran.

Last edited by a moderator:

Hi

I think when no part exists in the PCB design software used, you unfortunately have to design it yourself - it looks easy once you know how, I never have. Same goes for the footprint, they seem to be linked in the program I use for schematics, so once you've done one the second stage (i.e. footprint) takes up less time.

Your SMA connector datasheet will have a specific footprint for your specific connector, and if no datasheet is available then try with a good ruler/(digital) caliper (if you're lucky enough to have one, especially digital) to get reasonably precise measurements. A set of stiff compasses can be an okay makeshift caliper for measurements, if desperate.

Good luck.

The component footprint for this is 5 pads and a square surrounding them.
It's not hard to do, find the datasheet for the correct dimensions and learn to use your pcb packages so that you can make your own footprints.

Its simple, honest.