+ Post New Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Newbie level 1
    Points: 2,558, Level: 11

    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    0
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    2,558
    Level
    11

    What is the difference between RF choke and inductor?

    What is the different between RF choke & inductor? Can I replace RF choke with inductor?

    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  2. #2
    Advanced Member level 2
    Points: 7,682, Level: 20
    cedance's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    551
    Helped
    35 / 35
    Points
    7,682
    Level
    20

    choke inductor

    Quote Originally Posted by jerry117
    What is the different between RF choke & inductor? Can I replace RF choke with inductor?
    there is a difference, hope u would get clear going here:

    https://www.edaboard.com/viewtopic.p...ighlight=choke

    regards,
    arunmit168.



  3. #3
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 5,146, Level: 16
    sergio mariotti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    468
    Helped
    68 / 68
    Points
    5,146
    Level
    16

    choke vs inductor

    Both are inductors (bobbins, coil etc.)
    The term Inductor call for a tuning element to be used on RF and the RF pass through it, of course it should be a low loss (high Q).
    The term choke call for a RF block. because it should block the RF, its impedance should be high, but to get an high impedance you may get High reactance and also high resistance, so the chooke may by a low Q incuctor.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  4. #4
    Full Member level 2
    Points: 3,429, Level: 13

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    malaysia
    Posts
    139
    Helped
    3 / 3
    Points
    3,429
    Level
    13

    inductor choke

    Did you mean RF choke is an inductor with lower Q?

    One other question...
    Can we use Active Inductor as RF choke??

    :D



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  5. #5
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 5,146, Level: 16
    sergio mariotti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    468
    Helped
    68 / 68
    Points
    5,146
    Level
    16

    rf choke circuit

    I would add some more info about choke.
    The choke is a "brake" for RF and an inductor is only 1 of many methods to do a choke.
    I know, also the 1/4 lambda Hi Zo line stub.
    But I don't know if an active inductor may be used as choke.
    Answering to guamak_menanak, the lower Q in not necessary for technical reasons, since Q = cost and since for a choke is not required an high Q, you may use cheaper inductors.

    !!! Pay attention to the self resonant frequency !!!



  6. #6
    Member level 1
    Points: 1,753, Level: 9

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    32
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    1,753
    Level
    9

    rf choke

    A choke is an inductor which is usually used to pass DC current to a circuit and suppress any noise and RF from the circuit. High inductance chokes also introduce transients which might affect the circuit or even damage it.



  7. #7
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 10,571, Level: 24

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    414
    Helped
    12 / 12
    Points
    10,571
    Level
    24

    difference between inductor and choke

    Can not replac it!
    it have difference responsable frequency.



  8. #8
    Member level 2
    Points: 1,795, Level: 9

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Asia
    Posts
    49
    Helped
    1 / 1
    Points
    1,795
    Level
    9

    difference between choke and inductor

    Hi,

    Broadly, these are the same things, differenciated based on application. Chokes as others have also put it, are generally used to block RF, and are therefore put in the DC path in a circuit.
    Inductor however is an element used in a whole lot of applications including frequency related applications.



    •   AltAdvertisement

        
       

  9. #9
    Member level 1
    Points: 1,836, Level: 9

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Planet Earth, Solar System, MilkyWay
    Posts
    41
    Helped
    0 / 0
    Points
    1,836
    Level
    9

    inductor vs choke

    Quote Originally Posted by jerry117
    What is the different between RF choke & inductor? Can I replace RF choke with inductor?
    an RF choke is essentially an Inductor which offers a high impedance at the frequency of operation; The RF choke thus offers a near open circuit to the RF signal and is the choke is thus used for biasing the circuit.



  10. #10
    Advanced Member level 1
    Points: 6,213, Level: 18
    flyhigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    somewhere over the rainbow
    Posts
    409
    Helped
    68 / 68
    Points
    6,213
    Level
    18

    inductor as rf choke

    Hi,

    just one detail from my experience. Inductor in reality has self resonance frequency fr and cannot be used as RF choke from some frequency close but bellow fr to higher frequencies. As the rule of the thumb, the higher inductance, the lower fr is. For the broadband circuits that have lower edge in 10-100MHz range and higher in 1-2GHz range, this can cause serious problems.

    Also, inductor can influence the response of some broadband signals, it can introduce ringing (overshoot-undershoot) problems.

    To overcome problems mentioned you can somtimes be better off using resistor or series conection of inductor and resitor as a RF block.

    flyhigh



--[[ ]]--